H.R. No. 192

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The chamber choir from Jose Damian Elementary School
- 2 in Canutillo took home a gold award for its participation in the
- 3 WorldStrides Heritage Music Festival, held in Anaheim, California,
- 4 in May 2013; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Competing against music ensembles from around the
- 6 country, the talented young vocalists from Jose Damian were among
- 7 those recognized as the best contenders at the event; in addition to
- 8 the gold award honoring the group's performance, fifth-grade
- 9 student Elliot Lavis was singled out for the inaugural Time to Start
- 10 Dreaming Award, which is presented to a choir member who has made an
- 11 especially memorable and inspiring contribution to the music and
- 12 school community; and
- WHEREAS, Under the direction of teacher Rocio Rodriguez, the
- 14 chamber choir is composed of fourth- and fifth-grade students who
- 15 must complete a rigorous audition process to qualify for the
- 16 program, in addition to meeting high standards of academic
- 17 excellence and personal conduct; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Through their skill, discipline, and perseverance,
- 19 the members of the Jose Damian Elementary School Chamber Choir have
- 20 won great distinction for themselves and their school, and they may
- 21 indeed take pride in this well-earned achievement; now, therefore,
- 22 be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Jose

H.R. No. 192

- 1 Damian Elementary School Chamber Choir on its exceptional showing
- 2 at the WorldStrides Heritage Music Festival and extend to all those
- 3 involved with the program sincere best wishes for continued
- 4 success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the choir as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

 ${\tt Moody}$ 

TT	$\Gamma$	7\ T	102
Н	R	NO	197

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 192 was adopted by the House on June 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House