H.R. No. 231

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, TracyLocke of Dallas is celebrating its 100th

2 anniversary in 2013, making this a fitting opportunity to celebrate

3 the history of this pioneering Texas advertising agency; and

WHEREAS, Founded as the Southwestern Advertising Agency by

5 Shelley E. Tracy and Raymond P. Locke in Oklahoma in 1913, the

6 agency soon relocated to Dallas and became one of the leading

7 agencies in the Southwest and across the nation; TracyLocke merged

8 with BBDO in 1982, and then with DDB Needham in 1992, and now its

9 parent company, Omnicom Group, is the largest advertising

10 conglomerate in the Southwest; and

11 WHEREAS, The agency's campaigns over the years include the

12 creation of the "Drink a Bite to Eat at 10, 2 and 4" slogan for

13 Dr Pepper in 1926 and of Elsie the Cow for Borden in 1936, as well as

14 coining the word "slacks" for the Haggar Clothing Company in 1940,

15 rebranding the Tot'em Store as 7-Eleven in 1946, introducing

16 Doritos as a brand in 1966, and creating The Simpsons Movie

17 Kwik-E-Mart campaign for 7-Eleven in 2007; the term "metroplex," to

18 refer to the Dallas/Fort Worth region, was coined by a TracyLocke

19 copywriter; and

WHEREAS, Many of the company's staff have won international

21 acclaim over the past century; former CEO Morris Hite was inducted

22 into the American Advertising Federation's Advertising Hall of Fame

23 in 1996, and Mike Rawlings went from TracyLocke to further success

24 as CEO of Pizza Hut, and he is the current mayor of Dallas; in 2013,

H.R. No. 231

- 1 the company's founders were inducted into the Southwest Advertising
- 2 Hall of Fame; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Today, the company's first woman CEO, Beth Ann
- 4 Kaminkow, leads 250 employees in Dallas and 575 people in other
- 5 locations in providing advertising services to such clients as
- 6 7-Eleven, T-Mobile, PepsiCo, Hewlett-Packard, Pizza Hut, and
- 7 Samsung; and
- 8 WHEREAS, For 100 years, TracyLocke has created memorable and
- 9 iconic consumer images that have helped shape the economy and
- 10 history of Texas, and all that time, the company has remained true
- 11 to its founding principles of strategic thinking, passion, and the
- 12 desire to work smarter than the competition; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 14 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate TracyLocke on
- 15 the centennial of its founding and extend to its officers and
- 16 employees sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for TracyLocke as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 19 House of Representatives.

Branch

## H.R. No. 231

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer Martinez McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Travis Rodriguez of Bexar Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Sheffield of Bell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Tarrant Turner of Tarrant Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 231	
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 231 was	adopted by the House on June 25,	
2013, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House