By: Kolkhorst H.R. No. 235

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Hallettsville High School baseball team reached
- 2 the pinnacle of success by winning the 2013 University
- 3 Interscholastic League 2A state championship on June 6 at the Dell
- 4 Diamond in Round Rock; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Under the guidance of head coach Shorty Cook and
- 6 assistant coaches Ryan Barnes and Tim Bridges, the Brahmas posted
- 7 an outstanding overall record of 35 wins and just 3 losses; their
- 8 perfect 10-0 run through the postseason began with victories over
- 9 Kountze, East Bernard, Bishop, and Marion High Schools to earn the
- 10 team a spot in the state tournament; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In the semifinals, Hallettsville turned in a
- 12 dominant performance against Salado, winning 16-3 in a contest that
- 13 was ended by the mercy rule; Chris Jones led the way by hurling a
- 14 four-hitter while also going 3-for-4 at the plate, and the Brahmas
- 15 set tournament records for the most total runs in a game and the
- 16 most in a single inning, following their eight-run outburst in the
- 17 fourth inning; and
- WHEREAS, Advancing to the title game, the Hallettsville
- 19 players took the field for a championship showdown against
- 20 top-ranked Hughes Springs; the Brahmas took the lead early, scoring
- 21 twice in the first inning, but Hughes Springs battled back to tie
- 22 the score with two runs in the fourth; Nate Kowalik put
- 23 Hallettsville back on top with an RBI single in the next inning, and
- 24 winning pitcher and championship game Most Valuable Player Reagan

H.R. No. 235

- 1 McAda kept the opponents off the scoreboard the rest of the way,
- 2 recording a complete game five-hitter as Hallettsville posted a 4-2
- 3 triumph to claim the third state crown in school history; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. McAda, Mr. Kowalik, and Mr. Jones were selected
- 5 for the All-Tournament Team, and they were joined by Carson
- 6 Schindler, Justin Reeves, and Will Wallace, who had three hits and
- 7 an RBI in the final game; excelling through teamwork, the Brahmas
- 8 also received valuable contributions throughout the season from the
- 9 other members of the roster: Brent Motal, Brannen Carraway, Kory
- 10 Smith, Forrest Cline, Cody Andress, Shawn Rainosek, Tait Schindler,
- 11 Reid Leopold, Dalton Herrington, Weston Seay, Dyllan Kerr, Tyler
- 12 Skelton, Kyle Leopold, Brett Garner, and Eric Klekar; and
- WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is the culmination of
- 14 countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to
- 15 excellence, and these talented student-athletes may indeed look
- 16 back with pride on their exceptional accomplishment; now,
- 17 therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 19 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the
- 20 Hallettsville High School baseball team on winning the UIL 2A state
- 21 championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff
- 22 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 25 House of Representatives.