H.R. No. 256

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Jack Winton has been named one of the inaugural 2 recipients of the Pioneer Award by the El Paso Association of 3 Builders; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1946, the EPAB is affiliated with the National Association of Home Builders and the Texas Association of Builders; it established the Pioneer Award to recognize leaders in building or developing homes and those who have made important contributions to the local industry; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Winton came to El Paso from Clovis, New Mexico, in the 1970s as a partner in the development of the Santa Teresa 10 11 Country Club project; after working with that high-profile venture, 12 he went on to even greater success as a partner in Winton and Associates, which initially focused on the construction of high-end 13 14 homes; the firm later began building a wider variety of houses and developed subdivisions on the West Side, in the Upper Valley, and in 15 16 New Mexico; and

WHEREAS, Today, Mr. Winton serves as chair of the Winton Group, one of El Paso's most prominent homebuilding companies; it constructed almost 300 homes in the past year and had revenues of approximately \$50 million; in addition, he is the author of a new autobiography, *The House That Jack Built: A Memoir*; and

22 WHEREAS, Jack Winton has made a lasting, positive impact in 23 El Paso through his contributions to the business community, and 24 his accomplishments are indeed worthy of special recognition; now,

1

H.R. No. 256

1 therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 3 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Jack Winton on 4 his receipt of a Pioneer Award from the El Paso Association of 5 Builders and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued 6 success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Winton as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Marquez

H.R. No. 256

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 256 was adopted by the House on June 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House