SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 10

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Senior Master Sergeant Gina West, who is retiring July 27, 2013, after 27 years of honorable service with the United States Air Force; and

WHEREAS, Sergeant West enlisted in military service in July of 1985 shortly after her graduation from Franklin D. Roosevelt High School; she is currently assigned to the 136th Airlift Wing Headquarters of the Texas Air National Guard at Carswell Joint Reserve Base in Fort Worth where she serves in the Wing Commander's office as senior master sergeant, chaplain assistant supervisor; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of her military career, Sergeant West has held numerous important positions, including her most recent active duty assignment as the chaplain assistant career field manager, where she was responsible for the recruiting, retention, training, and professional development of some 300 chaplain assistants around the world; and

WHEREAS, She has also served as an honor guard instructor and supervisor and has won such honors as Noncommissioned Officer of the Year and the Diversity Champion Award; among her citations are the Meritorious Service Medal with six devices and the Air Force Commendation Medal with one device; and

Force Commendation Medal with one device; and WHEREAS, Respected and admired by her colleagues, she has served the nation with distinction, and her presence at Carswell Joint Reserve Base will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Senior Master Sergeant Gina West on her exceptional service to the United States Air Force and the Texas Air National Guard and extend to her best wishes for continued success in all her endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 6, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate