SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 14

In Memory of Janet Tucker

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Janet Tucker, who died April 26, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Janet Tucker was in many ways a woman ahead of her time; raised in the Girls Service League at the Scott Home at Thistle Hill in Fort Worth, she had a strong work ethic and exhibited an intense determination from an early age; and

exhibited an intense determination from an early age; and WHEREAS, She graduated from Paschal High School at age 16 and entered Texas Wesleyan College, from which she received a bachelor's degree at the age of 19; she soon became the youngest school teacher in Fort Worth history; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Tucker later returned to school to learn computer programming and became a systems analyst at Bell Helicopter, where she worked for 35 years; and

WHEREAS, In addition to having a successful career, she was a loving mother, and she was a working mother at a time when few women were; she prized academic excellence and family values, and she instilled the same priorities and beliefs in her children; and WHEREAS, Janet Tucker is survived by her husband of 57 years,

WHEREAS, Janet Tucker is survived by her husband of 57 years, L. D. Tucker, along with her children, her grandchildren, her great-grandchildren, and her sister, all of whom will dearly miss her steadfast presence and her strength; now, therefore, be it

her steadfast presence and her strength; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Janet Tucker; and, be it further

to the bereaved family of Janet Tucker; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution by prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Janet Tucker.

Davis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 6, 2013, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate