SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 17

In Memory of Harry Leon McBeth

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Harry Leon McBeth, who died April 29, 2013, at the age of 81; and

WHEREAS, Born in Rotan and raised in Plainview, Harry McBeth was a man of deep faith, and that faith became his lifetime calling; he graduated from Wayland Baptist University and earned a master of divinity and a doctor of theology degree from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth; and

WHEREAS, His affinity for the seminary led into a lengthy career; he joined the faculty of Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in 1960 and eventually became chair of its Christian History Department; and

WHEREAS, Dr. McBeth was a renowned and widely published scholar and historian; he wrote nine books, and he received numerous awards for his contributions to the history of Baptists in Texas; he had recently been honored with a Festschrift titled *Turning Points in Baptist History*, in homage to his contributions to the denomination; and

WHEREAS, Dr. McBeth was also highly respected for his teaching, through which he had a positive influence on the lives of hundreds of future church leaders; and

WHEREAS, He was also a devoted husband and father, and his steadfast faith, his generosity of spirit, and his love for humanity inspired and enriched his family; he will long be

1

S.R. No. 17

remembered and his memory will forever be cherished by his wife, Thelma, and his children and extended family and friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Harry Leon McBeth; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dr. Harry McBeth.

Davis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 6, 2013, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate