SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 21

In Memory of Joe Frederick Kraatz

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Fort Worth in mourning the loss of the Reverend Joe Frederick Kraatz, who died April 27, 2013, at the age of 74; and

WHEREAS, Joe Kraatz was born on August 2, 1938, and he attended high school in Winters; he graduated from Texas Lutheran College and from the Evangelical Lutheran Seminary in Columbus, Ohio; in 1966, he married Siegfriede E. Schmuck, who preceded him in death; and

WHEREAS, He was an ordained minister of the American Lutheran Church and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America; he served several congregations in Texas, including the First Evangelical Lutheran Church in Orange Grove, where he served for 24 years; following his retirement, he moved to Fort Worth and joined Faith Lutheran Church; and

WHEREAS, He was an exemplary gentleman and a highly regarded minister, and he was a generous, kindhearted person who was respected in the community for his many accomplishments; in 2009, he married the Reverend Janet J. Kraatz, and he was devoted to his wife, his two children, his granddaughter, and his two stepsons; and

WHEREAS, A man of integrity, strength, and generosity, he gave unselfishly of his time to others, and his wisdom, warmth, and valued counsel will not be forgotten; and

S.R. No. 21

WHEREAS, Reverend Kraatz was beloved by many, and he will long be remembered with affection and appreciation by all who were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of the Reverend Joe Frederick Kraatz; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of the Reverend Joe Kraatz.

Davis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 6, 2013, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate