SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 47

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Mount Rose Missionary Baptist Church of Brenham on the occasion of its 145th anniversary, which is being celebrated September 7 and 8, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Mount Rose Missionary Baptist Church traces its roots to a congregation formed in the 1850s that worshiped in secret due to the restrictions placed on African Americans during the days of slavery; the church was formally organized in 1868 and was named in honor of Rose Armstead-Whitaker, a benefactor of the church and the wife of a prominent local citizen; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, the church has ministered faithfully to the temporal and spiritual needs of countless people; under the guidance and wise stewardship of its pastors and the outstanding leadership of its current pastor, the Reverend John D. Harris, the church has continued to grow and to play a vital role in the life of the Brenham community; and

WHEREAS, One of the oldest and most prominent African American churches in Washington County, Mount Rose Missionary Baptist Church has been an invaluable source of strength for church members during times of hardship and bereavement and a place of fellowship during times of abundance and celebration; and

fellowship during times of abundance and celebration; and WHEREAS, The celebration of its 145th anniversary is an opportunity for area citizens to reflect on the church's many contributions to the community and the enlightenment and hope it brings to its congregation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby extend best wishes to the clergy and members of Mount Rose Missionary Baptist Church on the joyous occasion of its 145th anniversary; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the church as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hegar

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 12, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate