SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 70

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Stephen L. Brotherton, who has been named president of the Texas Medical Association; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Brotherton is an orthopedic surgeon with the Texas Health Care Bone and Joint Clinic in Fort Worth; a graduate of Texas Christian University, he earned his medical degree at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas and completed his residency at Emory University and Affiliated Hospitals in Atlanta; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Brotherton has been a leader in the field of sports medicine and helped to develop the Sports Medicine Advisory Team at Texas Christian University; this exceptional program has served as a model for other institutions around the country; and

WHEREAS, He expanded the scope of his sports medicine practice to the performing arts by applying its principles to the treatment of dancers and other performers, and he has called for athletic trainers to be assigned to dance companies; he is a member of the faculty at Texas Christian University, the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, and the Fort Worth Affiliated Hospitals Orthopedic Residency Program, and he has authored numerous articles for medical journals; and

WHEREAS, An exceptionally talented physician and educator, he is respected and admired by his colleagues, students, and patients, and he is truly deserving of recognition for his contributions to his community and his profession; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Dr. Stephen L. Brotherton on his many achievements and extend congratulations to him on his selection as president of the Texas Medical Association; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Davis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 14, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate