SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 90

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Brigadier General Walter Schellhase, United States Army, Retired, for his exemplary work on behalf of the nearly 20,000 veterans who live in the Texas Hill Country; and

WHEREAS, For the better part of two decades, General Schellhase has served on the board of directors of the Hill Country Veterans Council, and he has played a vital role in the council's continuing efforts to maintain the critical services offered by the Kerrville facility of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs; and

WHEREAS, He has been a forceful advocate before state legislators, members of Congress, and federal officials to preserve these benefits for the men and women whose courage and sacrifice have upheld our nation's security and democratic ideals; and

WHEREAS, General Schellhase has personally interceded to help ensure that individual veterans received the care to which they were entitled; he has also spoken out in support of physicians and other staff members to prevent their workloads from increasing to the point that patient care would suffer; and

WHEREAS, The Hill Country Veterans Council and veterans everywhere have benefited greatly from the hard work and commitment of this dedicated patriot, and he is truly deserving of recognition for the profound difference he has made in the lives of the men and women who have served in the country's armed forces; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Brigadier General Walter Schellhase, United States Army, Retired, on his exceptional contributions to the care of our nation's veterans and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Fraser

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 18, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate