H.R. No. 111
         WHEREAS, Dr. R. Bowen Loftin is stepping down as president of
  Texas A&M University on January 13, 2014, and returning to the
  classroom; and
         WHEREAS, During his tenure, Dr. Loftin has made involvement
  with students a priority, and he has distinguished himself
  throughout a period of research advancement and record enrollment
  growth; he provided skillful guidance in a number of major changes,
  including membership in the Southeastern Conference for
  intercollegiate athletics, and he has overseen the merger with the
  Texas A&M Health Science Center and the acquisition of a law school;
  he has created a strong working relationship with A&M students,
  always putting them first, engaging with them through social media,
  and agreeing to meet with any student on request; he is a familiar
  presence on campus, where his trademark bow tie has begun to set a
  new standard of attire; and
         WHEREAS, Dr. Loftin was appointed president in February 2010,
  following eight months as interim president; previously, he served
  for four years as a system vice president and as chief executive
  officer of Texas A&M University at Galveston, and he was a professor
  of maritime systems engineering as well; he joined the A&M system
  from Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, where he was a
  professor of computer science and of electrical and computer
  engineering; in addition, he was the director of the Virginia
  Modeling, Analysis, and Simulation Center; earlier in his career,
  he was employed by the University of Houston as professor and chair
  of the Department of Computer Science and director of the NASA
  Virtual Environments Research Institute; and
         WHEREAS, A prominent expert in his field, Dr. Loftin is
  frequently called upon as a consultant by both industry and
  government in the areas of homeland security, advanced training
  technologies, scientific and engineering data visualization, and
  modeling and simulation; he is the author or coauthor of more than
  100 technical publications, and he serves on numerous governmental
  and academic advisory committees and panels; and
         WHEREAS, This esteemed educator is a member of the Aggie
  Class of '71 and a graduate of the physics program at A&M, and he
  holds master's and doctoral degrees in physics from Rice
  University; through the years, he has received myriad accolades,
  among them two Excellence in Teaching and Service awards from the
  University of Houston-Downtown and an American Association of
  Artificial Intelligence Award for an innovative application of
  artificial intelligence; moreover, NASA honored him with its 1995
  Invention of the Year Award, Public Service Medal, and Space Act
  Award; and
         WHEREAS, Dedicated to teaching and research, Dr. Loftin will
  continue to serve A&M as a tenured professor in the Department of
  Industrial and Systems Engineering; plans are also under way for
  his establishment of an institute at the university focusing on
  advanced simulation in human behavioral modeling; and
         WHEREAS, Bowen Loftin has immeasurably benefited Texas A&M
  University through his able leadership and steadfast commitment to
  Aggie core values, and as he embarks on the next exciting phase of
  his noteworthy career, he may indeed reflect with pride on his
  accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Dr. R. Bowen Loftin
  for his service as president of Texas A&M University and extend to
  him sincere best wishes for continued success in his endeavors;
  and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Dr. Loftin as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
Raney Anderson
Workman Kacal
Dukes Ashby
Bohac Bonnen of Galveston
Crownover Guillen
King of Zavala Otto
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 111 was adopted by the House on July
  25, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House