83S20593 BPG-D
  By: Price H.R. No. 152
         WHEREAS, For more than a century, the Boy Scouts of America
  has helped young men build character, become responsible citizens,
  and develop their abilities in a wide range of pursuits, and those
  scouts who advance through the program to its highest rank are
  rewarded with the Eagle Scout insignia; and
         WHEREAS, Only about five percent of all Boy Scouts earn the
  title of Eagle Scout, and Brent Weiss of Panhandle Boy Scout Troop
  No. 501 may now count himself in that select group; in order to
  obtain that notable honor, specific requirements in the areas of
  leadership, service, and outdoor skills must be met; an Eagle Scout
  needs to earn at least 21 merit badges and must also serve as a
  leader both in his troop and in the completion of a project that is
  beneficial to a school, religious institution, or community; to
  fulfill this obligation, Mr. Weiss repaired the handicap ramp at
  Conway Community Church; and
         WHEREAS, Many Eagle Scouts go on to further distinguish
  themselves in such fields as business, science, politics, and the
  arts; among those accomplished individuals who have achieved Eagle
  Scout status are astronaut Neil Armstrong, President Gerald Ford,
  former secretary of defense Robert Gates, jazz musician Wynton
  Marsalis, film director Steven Spielberg, and entrepreneur Sam
  Walton; and
         WHEREAS, The Eagle Scout program fosters self-reliance,
  initiative, and resourcefulness, and those same qualities that
  enable a scout to attain this prestigious rank will be invaluable
  assets to him on the road ahead; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Eagle Scout Weiss
  on his outstanding achievement and extend to him sincere best
  wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Eagle Scout Weiss as an expression of high regard by
  the Texas House of Representatives.