H.C.R. No. 6

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Citizens of El Paso County lost a dedicated

2 community leader with the passing of County Commissioner Daniel

3 Richard Haggerty on June 28, 2013, at the age of 64; and

WHEREAS, Born in Rochester, Minnesota, Dan Haggerty was the

5 fifth child of Richard and Eleanor Haggerty, who instilled in each

6 of their 11 children a deep respect for country, community, and the

7 value of hard work; after his graduation from Cathedral High School

8 in El Paso, he enlisted in the U.S. Army and later joined the Marine

9 Corps, serving three tours in Vietnam; he retired from active duty

10 with the rank of sergeant in 1972, but remained a Navy Reservist;

11 and

12 WHEREAS, In the years following his return to civilian life,

13 Mr. Haggerty owned an El Paso real estate firm; in 1994, he was

14 elected county commissioner for Precinct 4, which encompasses parts

15 of Northeast and West El Paso; although an outspoken fiscal

16 conservative in a majority-Democratic county, he was returned to

17 office for nearly two decades and won the respect of fellow

18 commissioners from both sides of the aisle; he was known for his

19 frankness as well as for his sense of humor, which could defuse any

20 tense moments that would arise; and

21 WHEREAS, His ability to find levity in misfortune never

22 faltered, even after he was diagnosed with cancer in 2011; when he

23 lost his hair to chemotherapy treatments, he donned colorful wigs

24 to wear to county commissioner meetings in an effort to raise cancer

H.C.R. No. 6

- 1 awareness; and
- WHEREAS, A devout Catholic, Mr. Haggerty belonged to the
- 3 Knights of Columbus and additionally shared his time with a group
- 4 for marine veterans; he maintained close bonds with his brothers
- 5 and sisters, a number of whom also went on to hold elected office,
- 6 and was a cherished uncle to many nieces and nephews; and
- WHEREAS, Admired for his courage, kindness, and sincerity,
- 8 Dan Haggerty devoted himself wholeheartedly to his constituents in
- 9 El Paso County, and he will be deeply missed by all those who had the
- 10 good fortune to know him; now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas,
- 12 2nd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the memory of Daniel
- 13 Richard Haggerty and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his
- 14 family: to his sisters, Kathleen Haggerty Burds, Mary Haggerty
- 15 McLaughlin and her husband, Michael, Eileen Haggerty Hart and her
- 16 husband, Brad, and Bridget Haggerty Maxwell and her husband,
- 17 Michael; to his brothers, Patrick Haggerty, Michael Haggerty and
- 18 his wife, Cynthia, Brian Haggerty and his wife, Audrey, and
- 19 Jeremiah Haggerty and his wife, Silvia; and to his other relatives
- 20 and many friends; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 23 Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of
- 24 Dan Haggerty.

Moody Pickett Marquez N. Gonzalez of El Paso M. Gonzalez of El Paso

H.C.R. No. 6

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.C.R. No. 6
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 6 was vote of the House on July 11, 2013.	unanimously adopted by a rising
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 6 was wote of the Senate on July 25, 2013.	unanimously adopted by a rising
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	

Governor