HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Each year, the date of July 18 is recognized as 2 Nelson Mandela International Day; in 2013, that date will also mark 3 Mr. Mandela's 95th birthday, making this a fitting occasion to 4 celebrate the life and legacy of a courageous and inspirational 5 figure who is revered around the world; and

6 WHEREAS, Born into the Tembu tribe in the Transkei region of 7 South Africa in 1918, Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela earned a degree 8 from University College of Fort Hare and studied law at the 9 University of Witwatersrand; and

WHEREAS, In 1944, Mr. Mandela joined the African National Congress, and he soon became actively engaged in resistance against the racist apartheid policies of South Africa's ruling National Party; as part of that effort, he helped launch the "Defiance" campaign of civil disobedience in 1952; the government responded by trying him for treason in the late 1950s, though he was ultimately acquitted of that charge; and

WHEREAS, After the Sharpeville Massacre of 69 anti-apartheid protestors in 1960, the ANC was banned, and Mr. Mandela began advocating for armed resistance to the government; arrested in 1962, he was sentenced to five years of hard labor, and in a separate trial that began the following year, he was sentenced to life in prison; and

23 WHEREAS, From 1964 to 1982, Mr. Mandela was jailed in a small 24 cell on Robben Island, off the coast of Cape Town, and he was later

1

1 incarcerated at two prisons on the mainland; during his 25 years as 2 a prisoner, he endured harsh conditions while steadfastly refusing 3 to compromise his belief in justice and equal rights for all South 4 Africans; his valiant stand helped strengthen opposition to 5 apartheid, both within South Africa and around the world; and

6 WHEREAS, The anti-apartheid movement achieved one of its 7 greatest victories in 1990 when Mr. Mandela was released from 8 prison, and he soon became a key figure in the negotiations to 9 dismantle the country's unjust system of government; he received 10 the Nobel Peace Prize in 1993, and the following year he was elected 11 as South Africa's president in the nation's first multiracial 12 election; and

WHEREAS, In 2009, the General Assembly of the United Nations voted unanimously to commemorate his birthday each year as Nelson Mandela International Day, an observance that emphasizes the ability of individuals to effect positive change in their communities; and

18 WHEREAS, Over the course of his life, Nelson Mandela has 19 followed a difficult and often lonely path in the pursuit of 20 justice; starting as an idealistic student determined to make his 21 country a better place, he went on to become a resolute and 22 determined prisoner of conscience and, finally, an admired 23 international figure who symbolizes the victory of freedom over 24 oppression; now, therefore, be it

2

H.C.R. No. 16 1 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas, 2 2nd Called Session, hereby designate July 18, 2013, as Nelson 3 Mandela International Day in Texas.

Giddings	Turner of Harris
Craddick	Pitts
Johnson	Branch
Huberty	Kacal
Kolkhorst	Parker
Stickland	

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 16 was adopted by the House on July 15, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 16 was adopted by the Senate on July 17, 2013, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor