RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. George C. Wright is celebrating his 10th
- 2 anniversary as president of Prairie View A&M University on August
- 3 15, 2013; and
- WHEREAS, A native of Lexington, Kentucky, George Wright
- 5 earned his bachelor's and master's degrees in history from the
- 6 University of Kentucky and his doctorate in history from Duke
- 7 University; and
- 8 WHEREAS, After beginning his academic career at the
- 9 University of Kentucky in 1977, Dr. Wright taught at The University
- 10 of Texas at Austin from 1980 to 1993, where he was the Mastin Gentry
- 11 White Professor of Southern History and vice provost for
- 12 undergraduate education; in 1993, he became the vice provost for
- 13 university programs and director of the African and African
- 14 American Studies program at Duke University; he went on to serve as
- 15 executive vice president for academic affairs and provost at The
- 16 University of Texas at Arlington; on August 15, 2003, he became the
- 17 seventh president of Prairie View A&M University, the second-oldest
- 18 public institution of higher learning in the Lone Star State; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Wright's scholarship includes three books, A
- 20 History of Blacks in Kentucky, Volume 2: In Pursuit of Equality,
- 21 1890-1980; Life Behind a Veil: Blacks in Louisville, Kentucky,
- 22 1865-1930; and Racial Violence in Kentucky, 1865-1940: Lynchings,
- 23 Mob Rule, and "Legal Lynchings", which earned him the Governor's
- 24 Award of the Kentucky Historical Society; his work-in-progress is a

H.R. No. 61

- 1 biography of the African American leader Robert Charles O'Hara
- 2 Benjamin; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This distinguished scholar, educator, and
- 4 administrator has received many fellowships, grants, and awards; he
- 5 earned the Jean Holloway Award for Excellence in Teaching, the
- 6 "Eyes of Texas Excellence" Award, and the Kappa Alpha Psi
- 7 Fraternity Award for Outstanding Black Faculty Member from The
- 8 University of Texas at Austin, where he was also the Friar Society
- 9 Centennial Fellow for Teaching Excellence, the Silver Spurs
- 10 Centennial Teaching Fellow, and the Lillian and Tom B. Rhodes
- 11 Centennial Teaching Fellow; in addition, he received the Andrew
- 12 W. Mellon Faculty Fellowship at Harvard University; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Wright has contributed to his profession as a
- 14 member of the editorial boards of the Louisiana State University
- 15 Press Southern Biography Series and the Journal of Southern History
- 16 and through his work with the Southern Historical Association
- 17 Program Committee; a leader in his community as well, he has served
- 18 on the boards of the Arlington Chamber Foundation and the Medical
- 19 Center of Arlington; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Under his exemplary leadership, Prairie View A&M
- 21 University has built on its already sterling reputation for
- 22 providing an excellent education to generations of engineers,
- 23 nurses, and educators, and Dr. Wright may indeed take great pride
- 24 in his skilled stewardship of the university as he celebrates this
- 25 special anniversary; now, therefore, be it
- 26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 27 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate Dr. George

H.R. No. 61

- 1 C. Wright on his 10 years as president of Prairie View A&M
- 2 University and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 3 success in his important work; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Dr. Wright as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Giddings White Allen Turner of Harris Bell

H.R. No. 61

Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas	Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miler of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Toth Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas	Giddings	Murphy	Wu

]	H.R.	No.	61
	Speal	ker of the	Hou	se	
I certify that H.R. No. 61 was	adopted by t	the House	on J	uly	11,
by a non-record vote.					

Chief Clerk of the House

2013, by a non-record vote.