H.R. No. 64

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The San Antonio Ethnic Art Society is marking its
30th anniversary in 2013; and

3 WHEREAS, Founded in 1983 and originally known as the Southwest Ethnic Art Society, SAEAS is dedicated to promoting 4 5 awareness and appreciation of African and African American visual art; through the years, it has displayed the works of local artists 6 7 at numerous events in the San Antonio metropolitan area and beyond, with each exhibit featuring an array of paintings, masks, textiles, 8 9 and sculptures that depict the rich diversity of the African 10 American experience; and

11 WHEREAS, SAEAS has additionally sponsored various programs 12 for area students, including opportunities for young artists to 13 publicly showcase their talents and earn scholarships; under the 14 leadership of current president Gracie Poe, the collective most 15 recently opened an exhibition celebrating its history at The 16 University of Texas at San Antonio Art Gallery; and

WHEREAS, For over a quarter-century, the San Antonio Ethnic Art Society has contributed to the vibrancy and vitality of the Alamo City's arts scene, and it is a pleasure to recognize this outstanding cultural resource for its impressive record of accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commemorate the 30th anniversary of the San Antonio Ethnic Art Society and that all those

1

1 affiliated with the group be extended sincere best wishes for 2 continued success; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for the San Antonio Ethnic Art Society as an expression of 5 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

H.R. No. 64

H.R. No. 64

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 64

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 64 was adopted by the House on July 15, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House