## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Efrain Zavala, the president of WTDG Geoscience 2 Services, is greatly benefiting the energy industry in Texas 3 through his role in establishing a strong relationship between the 4 United States and Mexico in the provision of technology used in the 5 development of the Eagle Ford Shale and in preparing individuals 6 for employment in the oil and gas business in Texas and Mexico; and

7 WHEREAS, A Laredo resident, Mr. Zavala holds a master's 8 degree in business administration and doctoral degrees in 9 macroeconomics and microeconomics; in addition, he is a certified 10 public accountant in Mexico and California; and

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Zavala founded WTDG Geoscience Services after 12 garnering a wealth of business experience; he has spent the last 30 years focusing on energy and hydrocarbon exploration as well as the 13 14 construction and operation of offshore drilling platforms, and his expertise has also been put to good use in the automotive and 15 16 pharmaceutical industries; among the companies with which he has been affiliated are Occidental Petroleum, Latina Oil Corporation, 17 Petroleos Mexicanos, Baker Marine, and Magnum Marine; and 18

WHEREAS, Widely recognized as an authority in his field, Mr. Zavala has taught for the Instituto Politecnico Nacional in Mexico and served as an industrial development consultant for NordFinanz Bank and the Swiss Bank Corporation in Switzerland; moreover, he has worked with the United Nations on economic development issues and, in cooperation with the Instituto Mexicano del Petroleo and

1

Petroleos Mexicanos and other parties, he has developed ways to market important hydrocarbon research in Mexico, Great Britain, and the United States; his other accomplishments include helping to privatize the petrochemical industries in Italy and Great Britain; and

6 WHEREAS, With the support of binational authorities and 7 companies, Efrain Zavala has had a positive impact in the Lone Star 8 State and beyond through his important endeavors in the energy 9 industry and his commitment to workforce development, and his 10 accomplishments indeed merit special recognition; now, therefore, 11 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 12 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby honor Efrain Zavala for his 13 14 noteworthy achievements in the establishment of а strong 15 relationship between the United States and Mexico in the provision of technology used in the development of the Eagle Ford Shale and 16 17 commend him for his contributions in the training of skilled oil and gas industry workers; and, be it further 18

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for Mr. Zavala as an expression of high regard by the Texas 21 House of Representatives.

Raymond

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 81 was adopted by the House on July 15, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House