## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of Texas
- 2 is pleased to recognize Nancy Blackwell, who is retiring as
- 3 principal of MacArthur High School on June 10, 2013, after a long
- 4 and distinguished career with the Aldine Independent School
- 5 District; and
- 6 WHEREAS, She joined the district in 1986 and taught at Orange
- 7 Grove Elementary School before moving into administration as
- 8 assistant principal at Carmichael Elementary School; she went on to
- 9 serve as principal at Worsham Elementary and Hambrick Middle
- 10 Schools before assuming her role at MacArthur High School in 2005;
- 11 and
- WHEREAS, Under her exceptional leadership, MacArthur High
- 13 School has enjoyed success in a wide array of activities, from
- 14 academic decathlon to athletics to dance team and jazz ensemble
- 15 performances; it has consistently been listed among the best high
- 16 schools in the country by U.S. News and World Report and is the only
- 17 high school in the nation to win an Excellence in Education Award
- 18 from the National Center for Urban School Transformation; and
- 19 WHEREAS, She has dedicated her career to helping ensure that
- 20 her students achieve graduation, and she was named the district's
- 21 Secondary Principal of the Year in 2011; and
- WHEREAS, An exemplary educator and administrator, she is
- 23 respected and admired by her colleagues and by students throughout
- 24 the district, and her presence at MacArthur High School will be

- 1 greatly missed; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 3 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Nancy Blackwell on
- 4 her commitment to her profession and her many achievements and
- 5 extend to her best wishes for continued success in all her
- 6 endeavors; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for her
- 8 as an expression of esteem from the Texas House of Representatives.

Walle

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

_							

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 89 was adopted by the House on July 15, 2013, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House