RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A life defined by compassion, courage, and
commitment drew to a close with the passing of Anne Castleberry
McAfee of Austin on July 13, 2013, at the age of 82; and

WHEREAS, Born in Austin on October 15, 1930, the former Anne 4 5 Elizabeth Castleberry grew up with her mother, Martha Faulk Castleberry Stansbury, on the South Austin farm of 6 her grandparents, Henry and Mattie Faulk; their rambling Victorian home 7 welcomed a host of relatives and friends, including Mattie Faulk's 8 9 colleagues from the women's suffrage movement, and spirited discussions on politics, religion, and other topics were the order 10 11 of the day; Ms. McAfee developed a profound love of our nation's 12 founding ideals, as well as a determination to uphold them by making society more just and inclusive; at the age of 13, she entered the 13 14 political arena as a volunteer for the gubernatorial campaign of former suffragette Minnie Fisher Cunningham, and a few years later, 15 16 she attended the Progressive Party Convention in Philadelphia; and

WHEREAS, This remarkable young woman graduated from Austin 17 High School and majored in history at The University of Texas at 18 Austin, where she met her future husband, Bill McAfee; Ms. McAfee 19 devoted herself to their home and their five children and pursued 20 21 her interest in civic affairs by subscribing to the Congressional Record and numerous other publications; once the children were in 22 23 school, Ms. McAfee edited a small monthly magazine for the family business, and she later edited the Austin Times, a progressive 24

1

1 weekly that she and her husband established; and

2 WHEREAS, Over the years, Ms. McAfee was highly involved in myriad campaigns for public office at the local, state, and 3 national levels; she was a statewide coordinator for George 4 5 McGovern's presidential campaign and served as campaign treasurer for congressional candidate John Courage and for Travis County 6 Constable Maria Canchola; her warm smile and delightful sense of 7 8 humor graced innumerable Democratic functions, where she assisted in a host of ways; a dependable source of wise counsel, she mentored 9 10 elected officials in her hometown, and she provided information and advice to President Barack Obama's 2008 campaign; she was also an 11 officer and newsletter editor for the Travis County Democratic 12 Women, a member of the State Democratic Executive Committee, and an 13 14 original and sustaining member of the Yeller Dawgs group; and

15 WHEREAS, This indomitable Austinite benefited the League of Women Voters as an officer and newsletter editor; from the era of 16 17 the poll tax onward, she worked to ensure equal access to the ballot box for all, and she was a staunch supporter of the civil rights 18 19 movement; she helped found the Save Barton Creek Association, and she gave selflessly of her time and talents in behalf of many 20 progressive causes, among them increasing health care access, 21 empowering farmworkers, protecting the environment, and ending war 22 23 and nuclear proliferation; raising her voice for women's rights her 24 entire life, she provided tremendous inspiration to younger activists through her presence at the State Capitol during the 25 26 senate filibuster on June 25, 2013; and

27 WHEREAS, Anne McAfee was dedicated to her family, her

2

1 community, and her country, and she instilled in other people an 2 awareness of the importance of standing up for cherished principles 3 of social justice; although she will be deeply missed by those she 4 leaves behind, her shining example of civic engagement will 5 continue to light their way; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 7 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the memory 8 of Anne Castleberry McAfee and extend sincere condolences to the members of her family: to her husband of 61 years, Bill McAfee; to 9 10 her children, Susan Raybuck and her husband, Perry, Mark McAfee, Karen Kate McAfee, Laura O'Neill, and Nancy Dyer and her husband, 11 Allan; to her grandchildren, David Raybuck, Abigail Daigle, Sean 12 Raybuck, Adrienne O'Neill, Amanda Adele McAfee, Kaela Dyer Luna, 13 14 Kevin Deckard McAfee, Emerson McAfee, Garrett Dyer, Kenny O'Neill, Jeff McAfee Deckard, and Sarah O'Neill; to her great-grandchildren, 15 Sydney, Perry, Harper, and Everlee; and to her many other 16 17 relatives, friends, and admirers; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 20 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Anne 21 Castleberry McAfee.

Naishtat

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 120 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on July 18, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House