H.R. No. 130

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Cameron Yoe High School Band has been selected
as the 2A State Honor Band for 2014 by the Texas Music Educators
Association; and

WHEREAS, The Honor Band program was established in the late 1950s to raise the level of music instruction in the state and to recognize communities and school systems for the success of the instrumental music programs that they support; participation in the contest has flourished through the years and competition is intense; and

WHEREAS, About 200 2A high schools from across the state 10 11 participated in the early rounds of this year's contest; the 12 111-member Yoemen Band won first place at the region and area levels and then advanced to the final round for the first time in school 13 14 history; competing against 13 other ensembles, the Yoemen received top honors from the panel of five judges, with four first-place 15 16 votes and one second-place vote; as the Honor Band, these dedicated young musicians will present a concert at the TMEA state convention 17 in San Antonio on February 14, 2014; and 18

WHEREAS, Skillfully guided by director Steven Moss, the talented and hardworking members of the Cameron Yoe High School Band have won great distinction for themselves, their school, and their community, and they may indeed take pride in their outstanding achievement; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

1

H.R. No. 130

Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Cameron Yoe High School Band on its selection as the 2A State Honor Band for 2014 by the Texas Music Educators Association and extend to the members sincere best wishes for a memorable and enjoyable performance at the TMEA convention; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the band as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Farney

H.R. No. 130

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 130 was adopted by the House on July 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House