H.R. No. 161

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, James M. Parks is concluding his notable tenure as 2 executive director of the North Texas Municipal Water District 3 after 15 years in that post; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Parks began working for the district in 1979 and was promoted to its highest office in 1998; throughout his long and productive tenure, he has demonstrated a sustained commitment to excellence in meeting the needs of the 1.6 million people residing in the 13 area member cities, who rely on the district for high-quality drinking water, waste disposal, and wastewater treatment; and

11 WHEREAS, Outside of his duties as executive director, he has 12 benefited the National Water Resources Association, which he has served as president since 2012, and he currently chairs the Region C 13 14 Water Planning Group for the Texas Water Development Board; he has further lent his insight as a board member for the American Water 15 16 Works Association, the Water Conservation Advisory Council, and the American Public Works Association, which in 2005 named him 17 Professional Manager of the Year; and 18

WHEREAS, Through his outstanding stewardship of the North Texas Municipal Water District, James Parks has made significant contributions to the field of water resource management and the profession of public works, and he may reflect with satisfaction on all that he has achieved as he embarks on the next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 161

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 2 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate James M. Parks 3 on his retirement as executive director of the North Texas 4 Municipal Water District and extend to him sincere best wishes for 5 the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Parks as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Taylor

H.R. No. 161

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 161 was adopted by the House on July 29, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House