SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 33

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Casa de Misericordia on the occasion of its 15th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Casa de Misericordia opened its doors on July 7, 1998, after a dedicated group of health care providers from Mercy Clinic had noticed a disturbing number of women in violent situations; a grant from the Sisters of Mercy and community donations provided funding, and Casa de Misericordia was founded; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of its history, this exceptional nonprofit organization and women's shelter has helped the victims of domestic violence to reclaim their lives by offering comprehensive, holistic services and long-term support; and

WHEREAS, Casa de Misericordia has provided the victims of domestic violence, notably those with children and those who are pregnant, with a sheltered environment in which they can obtain the very best services in education, legal advocacy, counseling, medical referrals, and spiritual guidance; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, the organization has added such services and facilities as a women's empowerment program, children's summer camps, the Sisters of Mercy Recreation Center, and the Mattie Smith-Gomez Family Center; it is truly deserving of recognition for its enduring efforts to raise awareness of the problem of domestic violence and to provide its victims in the Laredo community with a safe and secure place to regain strength and peace in their lives; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend the staff and volunteers of Casa de Misericordia on their dedication to helping the victims of domestic abuse and extend to them best wishes on the occasion of the shelter's 15th anniversary; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the organization as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 11, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate