SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 69

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize United States Navy Captain Robert A. Bennett for his exemplary service to the nation; and

WHEREAS, Captain Bennett received his commission through the Navy Reserve Officers' Training Corps program at the University of Arizona; he was designated a Naval Aviator in 1990; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his military career, Captain Bennett has held command positions with a number of units, including Helicopter Mine Countermeasures Squadron 14, in which he served as officer in charge of the first forward-deployed Countermeasures Vertical Onboard Airborne Mine Delivery four-plane detachment in Bahrain during Operation Iraqi Freedom, and Helicopter Mine Countermeasures Squadron 15, which supported 5th Fleet operations during Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Iraqi Freedom and which received the coveted Frederick

L. Feinberg award while he was serving as commanding officer; and WHEREAS, Captain Bennett has also held staff positions at Commander Helicopter Tactical Wing, Pacific, and Deputy Director of Training Transformation and Technology for the Department of Defense's Reserve and Guard Components; his many awards and decorations include the Meritorious Service Medal, the Navy Commendation Medal, and the Navy Achievement Medal; and

WHEREAS, Captain Bennett has served the United States Navy

with distinction, and he is truly deserving of recognition for his outstanding achievements; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Captain Robert A. Bennett on his many contributions to the United States Navy and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 19, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate