## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 91

## In Memory of William H. Gray III

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of William H. Gray III, who died July 1, 2013, at the age of 71; and

WHEREAS, A native of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Bill Gray graduated from Franklin and Marshall College and earned divinity degrees from Drew Theological Seminary and Princeton Theological Seminary; he succeeded his father as pastor of Bright Hope Baptist Church in Philadelphia in 1972 and remained pastor until 2007; and

WHEREAS, He was elected to the United States House of Representatives in 1978, where he served as chair of the powerful Budget Committee and was the first African American in the 20th century to become majority whip; his many legislative achievements included a bill that imposed sanctions on South Africa and served as a precursor to the Comprehensive Anti-Apartheid Act; and

WHEREAS, He left Congress in 1991 to lead the United Negro College Fund, and during his tenure, the organization was able to raise more than \$2.3 billion for black colleges and universities; he was later tapped by President Bill Clinton to serve as a special advisor on Haiti, and he founded Gray Global Advisors, a business and consulting firm; and

1

## S.R. No. 91

WHEREAS, A man of courage, integrity, and strength, he was a tireless advocate for his constituents and a political trailblazer, and his wisdom, his leadership capabilities, and his enthusiasm for public service and helping others will not be forgotten; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of William H. Gray III; and, be it further

**RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of William H. Gray III.

Ellis

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 25, 2013, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate