SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 95

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Texas Game Warden Eddie Lehr, who has been named the $2013\ \text{Texas}$ Officer of the Year; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious award is presented by the Association of Midwest Fish and Game Law Enforcement Officers; candidates are rated on public outreach, performance excellence, teamwork, professional efficiency, and leadership; and

WHEREAS, Officer Lehr manages a patrol assignment in Houston County that includes the Davy Crockett National Forest and the Neches and Trinity River systems; his successful oversight of the area, which includes 160,000 acres of public hunting land, has established him as a top performer in his field; and

WHEREAS, In addition to skillfully executing his duties, this dedicated game warden has developed an extensive knowledge of the Penal Code, the Code of Criminal Procedure, and the Texas Water Safety Act that is superior to most; his knowledge and determination have contributed to his successful apprehension of numerous flagrant fish and wildlife violators in our state; and

WHEREAS, An active leader in the Houston County community, he participates in numerous public programs each year; notable among Officer Lehr's community endeavors is his involvement with Operation Outdoor, a program that introduces young citizens to hunting and fishing experiences in Texas; and

WHEREAS, His dedication and determination have earned this distinguished officer the respect and admiration of his peers, and it is truly fitting that he be honored for his outstanding achievements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Game Warden Eddie Lehr on his selection as the 2013 Texas Officer of the Year; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nichols

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 25, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate