SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 102

In Memory of Gerald Driscoll Flanagan

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Gerald Driscoll Flanagan, who died June 25, 2013, at the age of 90; and

WHEREAS, Gerald Flanagan was born April 15, 1923, in New York City, to James and Carolyn Flanagan; after his high school graduation, he enlisted in the United States Army Air Corps; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his long and distinguished military career, Mr. Flanagan served in World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War, and he retired as a senior master sergeant; while serving with the 452nd Bomb Group of the 8th Air Force, he took part in the historic Berlin Airlift; his medals and commendations include the Distinguished Flying Cross and the Bronze Star; and

WHEREAS, While stationed in England, he met and married a noted vaudevillian performer, the late Edna Marion Taylor; the couple moved to Fort Worth in 1967 after his retirement from the armed forces, and he enjoyed a second career in quality control with General Dynamics; he was a longtime, faithful member of Saint Mary of the Assumption Catholic Church; and

WHEREAS, A man of courage, strength, and compassion, he gave unselfishly to others, and his wisdom, warmth, and valued counsel will not be forgotten; and

WHEREAS, He was a devoted husband, father, and grandfather, and he leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 102

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 83rd Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Gerald Driscoll Flanagan; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Gerald Flanagan.

Davis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 30, 2013, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate