RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texas is a large state with some of the best hunting
- 2 and fishing opportunities in the nation; fishing, hunting,
- 3 trapping, and trading of wildlife have been important activities
- 4 since the first inhabitants settled in Texas; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The state's first law protecting fish was enacted in
- 6 1874, and in 1879 the first commission with the mission of
- 7 regulating and enforcing laws pertaining to the natural resources
- 8 was established; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Since 1895, Texas game wardens have built a
- 10 reputation as "can-do" peace officers with a heritage second only
- 11 to the legendary Texas Rangers; that proud tradition of service,
- 12 more than a century old, is carried on today by more than 500 men and
- 13 women who continue the work of this storied profession; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The first Game Warden Academy class in Austin was
- 15 held in 1978; cadets currently in the academy cover a vast array of
- 16 subjects, including game and fish laws, criminal law, citation,
- 17 court procedures, defensive tactics, arrest procedures, firearms
- 18 training, hunter safety programs, environmental pollution,
- 19 saltwater and freshwater fishing operation, boating safety, and
- 20 rescue training; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The 58th Texas Game Warden Cadet Class will complete
- 22 its training and be commissioned as Texas game wardens on August 6,
- 23 2013; and
- WHEREAS, This class consists of Mark Anderson (Tyler, Texas),

H.R. No. 9

1 Samuel Anderson (Nacogdoches, Texas), Michael Blevins (Hempstead, Texas), Joshua Bonney (Commerce, Texas), Roel Cantu, Jr. (Edinburg, 2 3 Texas), Antonio Chavez (Mexico), Jayme DeSchaaf (Liberty Hill, Texas), Travis Fountain (Nacogdoches, Texas), 4 Mark 5 (Cibolo, Texas), Jason Garcia (Schertz, Texas), Tommy Johnson (Wharton, Texas), Hsin-Wei Lin (College, Texas), Derrick Lopez 6 (Round Rock, Texas), Grant Moore (Jacksboro, Texas), John Newman 7 8 (Stephenville, Texas), Jake Noxon (Austin, Texas), Jack Pearl (Athens, Georgia), Howard Pierce (Rockport, Texas), Travis Porter 9 10 (Bridgeport, Texas), Jennifer Provaznik (Gautier, Mississippi), Arturo Salinas (Uvalde, Texas), Coby Sanders (Amarillo, Texas), 11 12 Jeremy Schwalk (Lubbock, Texas), Brendan Shoars (Abilene, Texas), (Rockport, Texas), David 13 Solis Stokes 14 Tennessee), Zachary Temple (Lufkin, Texas), Thomas 15 (Pleasanton, Texas), and Emily Zaunbrecher (Houston, Texas); and WHEREAS, After graduation from the Game Warden Training 16 17 Academy and receiving a commission as a peace officer, these individuals will perform responsible field enforcement duties 18 19 involving the enforcement of all provisions of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Code, Texas Penal Code, and relevant provisions of other 20 Texas laws; execute and serve all criminal processes resulting from 21 enforcement activities; provide public safety and emergency 22 23 functions; safeguard departmental equipment; prepare reports of 24 activities and present programs concerning departmental activities to the public; conduct investigations of holders of permits and 25 26 licenses issued by the department; maintain contact with holders of permits and licenses issued by the department; and maintain contact 27

H.R. No. 9

- 1 with landowners, resource users, and the general public; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The cadets who have been selected to hold this
- 3 invaluable post have all completed a grueling and demanding
- 4 training program and will greatly contribute to the safety of Texas
- 5 residents and the preservation of the Lone Star State's natural
- 6 resources, and Texas is indeed fortunate to have these dedicated
- 7 individuals; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 9 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the 58th Texas
- 10 Game Warden Cadet Class and extend to them sincere best wishes for
- 11 continued success in their law enforcement careers.

Guillen

тт	_		\sim
н	$\boldsymbol{\nu}$	NO	u

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 9 was adopted by the House on August 5, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House