RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A diamond wedding anniversary is truly cause for a 2 celebration, and on August 4, 2013, Dr. Charles Leon Branch and Mrs. Sylvia Lee Boswell Branch of San Antonio marked this momentous 3 milestone in their marriage; and 4 5 WHEREAS, The couple met in Nashville, Tennessee, while Dr. Branch, a native of Crockett County, Tennessee, was a student 6 7 at Vanderbilt University Medical School and the former Sylvia Lee Boswell was enrolled at Peabody College; they were married on 8 August 4, 1953, in the bride's hometown of Lakeland, Florida; and 9 WHEREAS, Dr. and Mrs. Branch have exemplified the qualities 10 11 of leadership and outstanding citizenship for their five children, 12 18 grandchildren, and one great-grandchild, whom they have inspired to achieve success, and return service to many, in their respective 13 14 fields of endeavor; their children and extended family include four sons, Charles L. Branch, Jr., M.D., Chief of Neurosurgery at Wake 15 16 Forest University Baptist Memorial Hospital, and his wife, Lesa W. Branch, of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, and their five 17 children, Byron, Daniel, Leslie, Courtney, and Emily Branch; Warren 18 B. Branch, D.D.S., 2011 Texas Dentist of the Year and past 19 20 president of the San Antonio Dental Society, and his wife, Melissa 21 W. Branch, of San Antonio; Daniel H. Branch, Esq., Chairman of the Committee on Higher Education in the Texas House of Representatives 22 23 and shareholder of Winstead P.C., and his wife, Stacey S. Branch, 24 of Dallas, and their five children, Daniel Jr., Spencer, Catherine,

- 1 Charles, and Sarah Branch; and Alfred C. Branch, President/CEO of
- 2 the Moriah Real Estate Company L.L.C., and his wife, Judy
- 3 L. Branch, of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, and Midland, and their two
- 4 children, Meagan and Lee Branch; and one daughter, Cynthia Lee
- 5 Branch Adams, and her husband, Donald F. Adams, M.D., a prominent
- 6 ophthalmologist, of San Antonio, and their six children, Henson,
- 7 Alexandra, Samantha, Harrison, Henry, and Sarah Adams; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mrs. Branch began her undergraduate education at
- 9 Florida Christian College, known today as Florida College, and she
- 10 went on to graduate from Peabody College, known today as a part of
- 11 Vanderbilt University; throughout her marriage, she has placed her
- 12 family at the top of her priority list as a dedicated homemaker
- 13 along with her service as a teacher at MacArthur Park Church of
- 14 Christ, while also becoming a respected civic leader and community
- 15 volunteer; a tireless helper at her children's schools, she served
- 16 as president of the PTA at Serna Elementary School, John Nance
- 17 Garner Middle School, and Douglas MacArthur High School in San
- 18 Antonio's Northeast ISD and has served the greater community as
- 19 well as president of the Bexar County Medical Society Auxiliary;
- 20 and
- 21 WHEREAS, Dr. Branch attended Lipscomb College, known today
- 22 as Lipscomb University, and graduated from Vanderbilt University
- 23 and its medical school; he completed a neurosurgical residency at
- 24 the University of Chicago, received a fellowship to Montreal's
- 25 McGill University, and began his practice in neurosurgery at the
- 26 Montreal Neurological Institute under the service of Dr. Wilder
- 27 Penfield, one of North America's leading neurosurgeons at that

- 1 time; Dr. Branch was a clinical professor at McGill University and
- 2 at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, and
- 3 a distinguished guest lecturer at the University of Texas
- 4 Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, has been widely published on
- 5 a host of neurological and neurosurgical topics, and has further
- 6 distinguished himself as a member of the Society of University
- 7 Neurosurgeons, one of the earliest members of the Harvey Cushing
- 8 Society, now known as the American Association of Neurological
- 9 Surgeons (AANS), as the recipient of the 2004 AANS Humanitarian
- 10 Award for his medical mission work in Nigeria, Haiti, and Guyana, as
- 11 the namesake for the Dr. Charles L. Branch Award at UT Dallas Brain
- 12 Health Center, and as vice chair of the board of trustees and
- 13 trustee emeritus of Oklahoma Christian University; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Throughout six decades of marriage, the Branches
- 15 have made their home in Chicago, Illinois; Montreal, Quebec,
- 16 Canada; and San Antonio, where they remain valued members of the
- 17 community; the couple are active members of the MacArthur Park
- 18 Church of Christ, where Dr. Branch is an elder, teacher, and
- 19 medical missionary, and Mrs. Branch is a longtime children's
- 20 teacher; in addition, she is an active board member of The Christian
- 21 Chronicle newspaper; Dr. Branch is the founder of and, along with
- 22 Mrs. Branch, acts as general partner for the Branch Ranch holdings
- 23 in Geronimo; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Together, Dr. and Mrs. Branch have shared the
- 25 trials and triumphs of six decades, and it is a pleasure to join in
- 26 honoring their enduring union; now, therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

- 1 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Dr. Charles
- 2 Leon Branch, Sr., and Mrs. Sylvia Lee Boswell Branch on the joyous
- 3 occasion of their 60th wedding anniversary and extend to them
- 4 sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Dr. and Mrs. Branch as an expression of high regard by
- 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Branch

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
CONZULCO	IVC V UI CZ	UCI WUO

Speaker of the House	
adopted by the House on August	5,

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 60

I certify that H.R. No. 60 was

2013, by a non-record vote.