S.B. 696

By: Duncan

Special Purpose Districts

Committee Report (Unamended)






Under current law, the board of the Lubbock Reese Redevelopment Authority is composed of seven members, each of whom are appointed to a four-year term and may be reappointed for one additional four-year term. In the event a board member resigns from the board before completing the member's term, the individual appointed to fill the unexpired term may be reappointed for only one additional term regardless of the length of the unexpired term the individual serves. Interested parties note that the board is soon scheduled to lose many current board members due to the expiration of their terms. In addition, the South Plains Association of Governments may currently appoint one member of the board, and it has been reported that this member has been the association's executive director since the authority was established. S.B. 696 seeks to address these issues by revising the membership of the authority's board.




It is the committee's opinion that this bill does not expressly grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, department, agency, or institution.




S.B. 696 amends the Special District Local Laws Code to specify that the member of the board of directors of the Lubbock Reese Redevelopment Authority associated with the South Plains Association of Governments is to be the executive director of that association, rather than a director appointed by the association. The bill authorizes a director appointed to fill a vacancy for an unexpired term to be appointed as the director's own successor for not more than two terms after serving the remainder of the unexpired term.




On passage, or, if the bill does not receive the necessary vote, September 1, 2013.