H.C.R. No. 33
         WHEREAS, Texans today have a renewed belief that the
  government closest to the people is the best government; and
         WHEREAS, No other level of government is more accountable and
  responsive on a daily basis to "We the People" than Texas cities;
         WHEREAS, Texas cities provide critical services such as
  police and fire protection, as well as the collection and disposal
  of garbage, ensuring that citizens have safe cities in which to live
  and work; and
         WHEREAS, Texas cities are the first, and often only, engine
  of economic development in the state, attracting businesses and
  providing infrastructure for those businesses to be successful; and
         WHEREAS, Texas cities constantly strive to keep driving
  conditions safe and work tirelessly to maintain city streets,
  street lights, and sidewalks; and
         WHEREAS, Texas cities provide safe, clean, and reliable
  drinking water, as well as investments in drinking water and
  wastewater infrastructure to protect public health and ensure that
  there is an adequate water supply to support the state's growing
  population, businesses, and industries; and
         WHEREAS, Texas cities also provide parks and libraries that
  improve the quality of life for individuals and the overall
  community; and
         WHEREAS, The services that cities are called on to provide by
  the citizens of Texas reflect the will of local taxpayers and allow
  people to live and work in close proximity; and
         WHEREAS, Those who are elected and serve at the local level do
  so largely on a voluntary basis and are best suited to determine
  what their individual communities look like; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby recognize this day as Municipal Government Day at the State
  Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for an
  informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 33 was adopted by the House on
  February 4, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House   
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 33 was adopted by the Senate on
  February 6, 2013, by a viva-voce vote.
  Secretary of the Senate   
  APPROVED: __________________