H.C.R. No. 83
         WHEREAS, St. Patrick's Day is commemorated every year by
  people of Irish ancestry all over the world, and each March for
  nearly 75 years, the city of Shamrock in the Panhandle has drawn
  countless visitors for its celebration of all things Irish; and
         WHEREAS, Named by immigrant sheep rancher George Nickel in
  honor of his native land, Shamrock is home to an annual
  St. Patrick's Day gathering that was started in 1938 by Glen Truax,
  the town's bandmaster; sponsored by the Shamrock Booster Club, the
  first festival was a success, featuring 12 bands and drawing
  several thousand people; and
         WHEREAS, The festival continued to grow until it was put on
  hold during World War II; revived by the American Legion and the
  Junior Chamber of Commerce in 1950, it was canceled again in 1951
  because of the Korean War, but in 1952, the Shamrock Chamber of
  Commerce took over the event, and it has continued to be held
  throughout the ensuing years; and
         WHEREAS, Today, the Shamrock St. Patrick's Day festival
  lasts several days, starting with a kickoff banquet and a dance,
  followed by such events as a carnival, a fun run, an arts and crafts
  exhibition, a vintage car show, an Old Settlers reunion, a Donegal
  beard-growing competition, and the crowning of Miss Irish Rose, all
  done with a distinctively Hibernian flair; and
         WHEREAS, Every spring, the Shamrock St. Patrick's Day event
  combines the best of Irish and Texas high spirits, making it one of
  the most unique and colorful community celebrations in the Lone
  Star State; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby designate the Shamrock St. Patrick's Day Celebration as the
  official St. Patrick's Day Celebration for the State of Texas.
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 83 was adopted by the House on March
  12, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House   
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 83 was adopted by the Senate on March
  12, 2013, by a viva-voce vote.
  Secretary of the Senate   
  APPROVED: __________________