H.R. No. 34
         WHEREAS, Family and friends will long cherish their memories
  of Arabella Davis of Arlington, who died on December 6, 2011, at the
  age of 76; and
         WHEREAS, The former Arabella Toney was born in Plainview on
  November 26, 1935, to O. T. and Laura Grace Toney; she graduated
  from high school in Abilene and went on to earn a bachelor's degree
  in education from Baylor University; and
         WHEREAS, After moving to Arlington, she joined the First
  Baptist Church, where she met John L. Davis; they were married in
  1968, beginning a rewarding relationship that lasted for 43 years;
  together, they were blessed with two sons, Stephen and Michael, and
  saw their family grow to include five grandchildren; and
         WHEREAS, Mrs. Davis distinguished herself in the course of a
  29-year career as a teacher in the Arlington Independent School
  District, during which she mentored hundreds of students at Short
  Elementary School and Wood Elementary School; and
         WHEREAS, A dedicated educator and a loving wife, mother, and
  grandmother, Arabella Davis excelled in all of these roles, and she
  leaves behind a legacy that will be treasured by all who held her
  dear; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Arabella Davis and
  extend sincere condolences to the members of her family: to her
  husband, John L. Davis; to her sons, Stephen Davis and his wife,
  Ronda, and Michael Davis and his wife, Melissa; to her
  grandchildren, Haley Davis, Jordan Davis, Anna Davis, J. Davis, and
  Mark Davis; and to her other relatives and friends; and, be it
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
  Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Arabella
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 34 was unanimously adopted by a rising
  vote of the House on February 18, 2013.
  Chief Clerk of the House