83R1669 STE-D
  By: Price H.R. No. 221
         WHEREAS, The North Plains Groundwater Conservation District
  was honored with the Texas Environmental Excellence Award for
  Agriculture on May 2, 2012; and
         WHEREAS, Presented by the Texas Commission on Environmental
  Quality and the Office of the Governor, the Texas Environmental
  Excellence Awards celebrate the efforts of citizens, groups, and
  organizations in the public and private sectors to preserve and
  protect the environment and to prevent waste and pollution; and
         WHEREAS, The NPGCD, which serves all or part of eight
  counties in the northern panhandle of Texas, was honored for its
  Reduced Irrigation on Corn Demonstration Project, also known as the
  200-12 Project for its goal of producing 200 bushels of corn per
  acre with 12 inches of irrigation water; launched in 2010, this
  initiative demonstrates irrigation efficiency strategies that have
  the potential to conserve at least three inches of water for each
  irrigated acre; if these practices were extended to the one million
  acres currently in irrigation in the NPGCD, the water saved would be
  enough to supply a city the size of San Antonio for a year; and
         WHEREAS, During the first year of the project, three members
  of the NPGCD board implemented the conservation practices on their
  own acreage; in 2011, the program was expanded, with funding
  provided by the Texas Water Development Board as well as by the
  Natural Resources Conservation Service and the Agricultural
  Research Service through the Conservation Innovation Grants
  program; the 200-12 Project will run through 2014; and
         WHEREAS, The NPGCD was formed in 1955 and was originally
  composed of Sherman, Hansford, Ochiltree, and parts of Hartley,
  Moore, and Hutchinson Counties; the district expanded to include
  Lipscomb County in 1973 and parts of Dallam County in 1993 and 2004;
  headquartered in Dumas, the district works to conserve groundwater
  resources, particularly those of the Ogallala Aquifer, which
  supplies most of the area's water and which is a finite and
  dwindling source; and
         WHEREAS, Today, the NPGCD works in conjunction with local,
  state, and federal agencies and carries out its mission by issuing
  water well permits, collecting and maintaining groundwater data,
  and performing water quality analyses and well system tests; and
         WHEREAS, The organization is ably led by general manager
  Steve Walthour and benefits from the dedicated work of its staff:
  Kristen Alwan, Randy Coon, Christie Frost, Dale Hallmark, Karen
  Mannis, Mike Pitts, Pauletta Rhoades, Casey Tice, Odell Ward, Kirk
  Welch, and Laura West; providing valuable direction and oversight
  are the members of the district board, Bob Zimmer, Gene Born, Brian
  Bezner, Danny Krienke, Harold Grall, Phil Haaland, and Wesley
  Spurlock; and
         WHEREAS, With its innovative strategies to reduce irrigation
  without lowering crop yields, the North Plains Groundwater
  Conservation District is demonstrating exemplary stewardship of
  our state's natural resources, and it is indeed worthy of this
  prestigious accolade; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the North Plains Groundwater
  Conservation District on its receipt of the 2012 Texas
  Environmental Excellence Award for Agriculture and commend all
  those associated with the 200-12 Project for their outstanding
  work; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the NPGCD as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.