H.R. No. 227
         WHEREAS, S. M. True, Jr., former president of the Texas Farm
  Bureau, passed away on May 15, 2012, at the age of 88; and
         WHEREAS, The son of Snoden Maddox and Nettie Belle Stalcup
  True, S. M. True was born in Goree on July 8, 1923, and raised on a
  farm; in 1933, his family relocated to the Snyder community near
  Plainview, and he graduated from Plainview High School before
  enrolling and attending classes at Texas Tech University; when
  World War II intervened, he enlisted in the U.S. Navy and served as
  a carrier-based night fighter pilot; and
         WHEREAS, Following the war, Mr. True returned to Hale County
  and began his career as a farmer; active in the Hale County Farm
  Bureau for a number of years, he went on to serve on the board of
  directors of the Texas Farm Bureau; he was elected president of TFB
  in 1982, and in his 11 years in that post, he made an indelible mark
  on both the organization and on the greater agricultural community;
  he oversaw the creation of the TFB AGFUND, which has since become a
  nationally recognized agriculture political action committee;
  along the way, he earned a reputation as a passionate advocate for
  Texas farmers and an effective consensus builder; and
         WHEREAS, In addition to his work with TFB, this esteemed
  Texan was appointed to the Governor's Task Force on Immigration and
  Agricultural Development, the Joint Committee on Farmworker
  Insurance, and the Texas Family Farm and Ranch Advisory Committee;
  he served on a multitude of agriculture and farm insurance boards,
  including that of the American Farm Bureau Federation, which
  honored him with its Meritorious Service Award; among his numerous
  other accolades were his induction into the State Fair of Texas
  Heritage Hall of Honor and his recognition as a Distinguished Texan
  in Agriculture by the Texas A&M University College of Agriculture
  and Life Sciences; and
         WHEREAS, Mr. True shared more than six rewarding decades with
  his wife, the former Anna Jean Roberts, whom he married in 1946; the
  couple were blessed with a son, David; over the years, Mrs. Roberts
  frequently accompanied her husband to many Texas Farm Bureau events
  across the state and beyond; and
         WHEREAS, During his lifetime, S. M. True contributed
  immeasurably to Texas agriculture, helping to preserve the
  livelihood of countless farmers across the state, and his legacy
  will be a continuing source of inspiration for all who knew him;
  now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of S. M. True, Jr.,
  and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his
  son, David True, and his wife, Linda; to his grandchildren, Blaine
  True and Larissa True; to his brother, Riley True, and his wife,
  Margaret; to his sister, Ona Belle Stephens, and her husband, Bill;
  to his nephew, Mark True, and his wife, Mary; to Eric Plumlee; to
  Ahmet and Gonul Yilmaz; and to his other relatives and friends; and,
  be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
  Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of
  S. M. True, Jr.
  King of Hemphill
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 227 was unanimously adopted by a rising
  vote of the House on January 30, 2013.
  Chief Clerk of the House