H.R. No. 238
         WHEREAS, January 30, 2013, marks the 45th anniversary of the
  launching of the Tet Offensive during the Vietnam War, and this is a
  fitting opportunity to remember the nearly 4,000 American military
  personnel who made the ultimate sacrifice during those harrowing
  weeks and months; and
         WHEREAS, In the early morning hours of January 30, 1968, in
  violation of a lunar new year truce, 84,000 North Vietnamese and
  Viet Cong troops launched the massive Tet Offensive, attacking 105
  cities and towns throughout South Vietnam; and
         WHEREAS, Although they were taken by surprise, American
  troops acquitted themselves with bravery and skill in innumerable
  instances of bitter combat; notable battles included those in the
  cities of Saigon and Hue and at the marine base at Khe Sanh and
  surrounding outposts; and
         WHEREAS, The attacks were eventually repelled, and the Viet
  Cong were effectively destroyed as a fighting force; the Tet
  Offensive cost more than 50,000 lives, including those of 14,000
  civilians and 3,895 American soldiers; in mid-February alone, 543
  Americans were killed, the highest weekly total of the entire war;
         WHEREAS, Nearly half a century later, the courage displayed
  by American troops during the Tet Offensive continues to exemplify
  the highest standard of bravery, and those who paid the last full
  measure of devotion are forever deserving of remembrance and honor
  by the country they served; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby pay tribute to the lives of those Americans who
  fell in battle during the Tet Offensive of the Vietnam War.
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 238 was adopted by the House on January
  30, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House