H.R. No. 417
         WHEREAS, The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) was founded in 1913
  "to stop the defamation of the Jewish people and secure justice and
  fair treatment for all citizens," because you cannot fight one type
  of hatred without fighting all types of hatred; and
         WHEREAS, ADL has been at the forefront of the struggle to
  eradicate bias, prejudice, racism, and bigotry in all its forms
  nationally for 100 years and has maintained offices in Texas for
  more than 60 years; and
         WHEREAS, In the 1920s, ADL challenged quotas limiting Jews'
  admission to colleges and universities and fought the exclusion of
  Jews from certain neighborhoods and professions; and
         WHEREAS, In the 1930s, alarmed that American nativist and
  fascist groups not only threatened Jews but American democracy, ADL
  established a research operation aimed at monitoring and exposing
  extremists, an operation which exists today; and
         WHEREAS, In the 1940s, ADL launched a massive operation to
  uncover Nazi supporters and hate groups in the United States and
  worked to expose the Ku Klux Klan as it prepared to increase its
  racist terror against black Americans; and
         WHEREAS, In the 1950s, ADL strengthened its efforts to help
  black Americans through the courts, the legislatures, and the
  media, filing an amicus brief in the Brown v. Board of Education
  case, and wrote a model anti-mask statute that helped unmask
  members of the Ku Klux Klan and other hate groups; and
         WHEREAS, In the 1960s, ADL worked closely with civil rights
  leaders and government officials to pass laws providing equal
  rights in voting, employment, and housing for black Americans and
  helped engender a new era of dialogue and friendship between
  Catholics and Jews by working closely with the Vatican on Nostra
  Aetate; and
         WHEREAS, In the 1970s, ADL became an international
  organization, opening offices in Israel and Europe, fought with
  other organizations to counteract an Arab boycott of companies that
  did business with Israel, and began its Audit of Anti-Semitic
  Incidents; and
         WHEREAS, In the 1980s, ADL created its groundbreaking
  education campaign, the A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE Institute, which has
  helped nearly 100,000,000 students, 11,000 educators, and nearly
  8,000 family and community members around the world embrace respect
  and fight bias and hatred; and
         WHEREAS, In the 1990s, ADL stepped forward to expose the
  beginnings of online hate and established its No Place for Hate
  campaign, which has helped forge an atmosphere of respect and
  appreciation for diversity in over 600 schools in Texas and many
  more throughout the nation; and
         WHEREAS, In the 2000s, ADL responded to the terrorist attack
  of September 11, 2001, by intensifying its training for law
  enforcement and working to help officers and others understand how
  terrorists and extremists operate, including the signs, symbols,
  and ideologies they employ, to prevent additional acts of
  terrorism; it worked with the family of James Byrd, Jr., in Texas to
  pass a monumental hate crime law with the James Byrd, Jr., Hate
  Crimes Act, and a groundbreaking national law with the Matthew
  Shepard and James Byrd, Jr., Hate Crimes Prevention Act; and
         WHEREAS, In the 2010s, ADL has made significant progress
  against prejudice and hatred; the need for the Anti-Defamation
  League still exists and ADL will never give up in the fight to make
  hatred a thing of the past; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature, hereby honor the Anti-Defamation League, extend to its
  staff and leaders sincere best wishes in all their endeavors, and
  join with ADL in its efforts this centennial year to "Imagine a
  World Without Hate."
  S. Davis of Harris
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 417 was adopted by the House on February
  18, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House