H.R. No. 630
         WHEREAS, The Baylor University Lady Bears basketball team and
  Coach Kim Mulkey reached the pinnacle of success by winning the NCAA
  Division I national championship on April 3, 2012; and
         WHEREAS, In a dominating performance in the title game,
  Brittney Griner scored 26 points, grabbed 13 rebounds, and blocked
  5 shots to lead Baylor to an 80-61 victory over Notre Dame; the
  championship triumph brought the team's record to a perfect 40-0,
  which set a new NCAA milestone for the most wins in a single season;
         WHEREAS, All year long, the Lady Bears were simply
  unstoppable; among the highlights was a 23-point blowout over
  defending national champion Texas A&M to win the Big 12 tournament,
  and Baylor went on to overwhelm every team it faced as it advanced
  toward the NCAA final, winning each game by 12 points or more; and
         WHEREAS, The 2012 title marked yet another major achievement
  for Coach Mulkey, who arrived at Baylor in 2000 to take over a
  program that had finished last in the conference the previous year;
  her impact was immediate, and in her debut season she guided the
  Lady Bears to their initial NCAA tournament appearance; four years
  later, she succeeded in her quest to make her team the best in the
  nation, as Baylor claimed its first NCAA championship; and
         WHEREAS, With a combination of skilled coaching and
  superlative performances on the hardwood, the Lady Bears have
  joined the list of elite teams that have earned multiple national
  titles, and their accomplishment is a source of pride to the
  university and its many supporters across the Lone Star State; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the Baylor University Lady Bears
  basketball team on winning the 2012 NCAA Division I national
  championship and extend to Coach Kim Mulkey and the team's players,
  assistant coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued
  success; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 630 was adopted by the House on February
  27, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House