H.R. No. 1282
         WHEREAS, Major Jim Horn of Denton continues to serve his
  country with exemplary dedication while compiling an exceptional
  record of achievement; and
         WHEREAS, Born in Denton on August 6, 1979, Major Horn is the
  son of former Texas state representative Jim Horn and Denton County
  judge Mary Horn; a star athlete in high school, he attended the
  United States Military Academy at West Point, where he played on the
  soccer team; he graduated in 2001 and was commissioned as a second
  lieutenant in the infantry; and
         WHEREAS, In March 2003, Lieutenant Horn took part in the
  invasion of Iraq as coalition forces launched Operation Iraqi
  Freedom; he served as an infantry platoon leader and reconnaissance
  platoon leader with the 3rd Infantry, which led in the capture of
  Baghdad; on returning home, he was promoted to captain and sent to
  the captain's career course at Fort Benning, Georgia; subsequently,
  he was asked to serve as an instructor for the final "swamp phase" 
  of the Army Ranger School at Eglin Air Force Base, Florida; and
         WHEREAS, During his second deployment with the 82nd Airborne
  Division, Captain Horn served as an infantry company commander in
  western Iraq, where he used counterinsurgency methods to support
  Iraqi allies; finally, in his third and last tour in Iraq, he served
  as a brigade headquarters company commander, overseeing security
  and contracts at Camp Ramadi; and
         WHEREAS, After completing his final tour of duty in Iraq,
  this outstanding officer received promotion to major and attended
  the Naval War College in Rhode Island; Major Horn graduated with
  distinction and was selected to become a Director Fellow on the
  Chief of Naval Operations Strategic Studies Group, an annual think
  tank, where he worked on concepts of future warfare; and
         WHEREAS, After completing his work with the Strategic Studies
  Group, Major Horn was assigned to the 173rd Airborne Brigade in
  Vicenza, Italy, and was deployed to Afghanistan, where he served as
  deputy brigade operations officer; he managed the brigade's Plans
  and Orders Shop and targeting process while it conducted its
  Security Force Assistant mission, closed several bases, and began
  shipping equipment out of the country; and
         WHEREAS, In May 2013, Major Horn is assuming the post of
  executive officer for the 2nd Battalion, 503rd Parachute Infantry
  Regiment; among the many decorations and awards conferred on Major
  Horn by the army are five Bronze Stars, the Meritorious Service
  Medal, and the Iraq and Afghanistan Campaign Medals; and
         WHEREAS, Through his selfless and unfaltering devotion to his
  country, Major Horn embodies the highest ideals of the United
  States armed forces, and he has earned the lasting respect,
  gratitude, and admiration of his fellow Texans and all Americans;
  now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby honor U.S. Army Major Jim Horn for his
  courageous service in this country's behalf and extend to him
  sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Major Horn as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1282 was adopted by the House on April
  3, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House