H.R. No. 1327
         WHEREAS, John Bruce officially became the eighth chief in the
  history of the Frisco Police Department on February 1, 2013; and
         WHEREAS, John Bruce first joined the Frisco Police Department
  in 1996; he was named assistant police chief in 2003 and assumed the
  responsibilities of interim chief in 2012, leading the department's
  more than 140 sworn officers and 60 civilian employees; and
         WHEREAS, A police officer for more than 25 years, Chief Bruce
  has experience in the patrol, investigations, traffic, and
  community services divisions of the department, and during his
  tenure he has implemented records management, mobile data, and
  radio systems for the force; in addition, he has overseen both the
  department's budget and its international accreditation
  maintenance efforts, and since 2008, he has served as an assessor
  with the Commission on Accreditation of Law Enforcement Agencies;
         WHEREAS, Chief Bruce is an alumnus of the FBI National
  Academy and Leadership and Command College, and he has bachelor's
  and master's degrees from The University of Texas at Dallas; in all
  of his endeavors, he enjoys the love and support of his wife, Anita,
  and the couple's two sons; and
         WHEREAS, Throughout his notable service with the department,
  Chief John Bruce has won the respect and admiration of his fellow
  officers and local residents alike, and his promotion justly
  recognizes his dedication to duty and his commitment to excellence;
  now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate John Bruce on his selection as
  chief of the Frisco Police Department and extend to him sincere best
  wishes for continued success; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Chief Bruce as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1327 was adopted by the House on April
  17, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House