This website will be unavailable from Thursday, May 30, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. through Monday, June 3, 2024 at 7:00 a.m. due to data center maintenance.

  H.R. No. 1371
         WHEREAS, The Barbershop Harmony Society, a national
  organization formerly known as the Society for the Preservation and
  Encouragement of Barber Shop Quartet Singing in America, is
  celebrating its 75th anniversary in 2013; and
         WHEREAS, During the last half of the 19th century, the
  barbershop served as a gathering place in many communities, and as
  men waited their turn in the barber's chair, they often sang
  together; over time, these informal performances developed into a
  style of close, four-part, a cappella harmonizing; usually made up
  of a bass, a lead singer, a baritone, and a tenor, the performers in
  barbershop quartets came to be known for their matching boater
  hats, striped vests, and colorful jackets, and many barbershop
  songs became standards, including "Hello, My Baby," "Shine On,
  Harvest Moon," and "Sweet Adeline"; and
         WHEREAS, By the 1920s, the style ebbed in popularity, but in
  1938, two men in Tulsa, Oklahoma, Owen Clifton Cash and Rupert Hall,
  invited some other barbershop singers to join them for a singing
  luncheon on the roof garden of the Tulsa Club on April 11, 1938;
  although the 26 singers drew complaints from other club members for
  their "noise," the meeting resulted in the creation of the
         WHEREAS, The organization has since grown to include nearly
  25,000 members in 800 chapters in all 50 states and each of the 10
  provinces of Canada, as well as 4,000 affiliate members in 10 other
  countries; the society has been largely responsible for securing
  the place of the barbershop style of singing in our musical
  heritage, and all across the nation, amateur and professional
  quartets and choruses continue to perform; famous barbershop
  quartets include the Buffalo Bills, who made a memorable appearance
  in the film The Music Man, and the Dapper Dans, who perform
  regularly at Disneyland and Disney World and who have appeared on an
  episode of The Simpsons; and
         WHEREAS, More than 1,000 Texans are members of the Barbershop
  Harmony Society, and the Lone Star State boasts 13 International
  Chorus champions, including the 11-time champion Vocal Majority
  from Dallas, as well as 8 International Quartet champions, 4
  International presidents, 3 International Seniors Quartet
  champions, and a Youth Chorus Festival winner; Texas has also been
  the site of four International Conventions of the group; and
         WHEREAS, One of the few distinctively American singing
  styles, barbershop harmony continues to energize its practitioners
  and delight audiences of all ages, and this special anniversary
  represents a fitting opportunity to celebrate this unique art form;
  now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby recognize April 7 through 13, 2013, as
  Barbershop Harmony Week in Texas.
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1371 was adopted by the House on April
  11, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House