83R19763 JNC-D
  By: Gonzales H.R. No. 1632
         WHEREAS, The College Republicans at Texas is celebrating the
  63rd anniversary of its founding in 2013; and
         WHEREAS, One of the oldest political organizations on The
  University of Texas at Austin campus, the group was established on
  January 1, 1950, to engage and educate students while advancing the
  principles of the Republican Party; and
         WHEREAS, Members attend weekly meetings to connect with
  public officials and increase their knowledge of important issues
  of the day; through the years, the group has been fortunate to host
  such dynamic speakers as State Comptroller Susan Combs, Lieutenant
  Governor David Dewhurst, and Karl Rove; and
         WHEREAS, Led by Saul Mendoza and Jelil Tagoe during the
  2012-2013 school year, the organization has produced a number of
  alumni who are successful in government and political fields,
  including consultants, campaign managers, and elected officials;
         WHEREAS, The College Republicans at Texas is an energetic
  force in the public affairs of the Lone Star State, and the
  dedicated efforts of its members have encouraged citizen engagement
  in public dialogue and promoted conservative principles on the UT
  campus and beyond; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby honor the College Republicans at Texas on the
  63rd anniversary of its founding and extend to its members sincere
  best wishes for the future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
  Texas House of Representatives.