WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to
  honor the City of Laredo and its representatives and to recognize
  January 30, 2013, as Laredo Legislative Day at the Capitol; and
         WHEREAS, Laredo, truly a gem along the Rio Grande, was
  established in 1755 by Don Tomas Sanchez, and its history offers
  a compelling tale, as the town was forged by Spaniards, Indians,
  Mexicans, Texans, and Americans; a dynamic bilingual and
  bicultural community, this Texas city is proud of its Mexican
  roots; a unique city under seven flags, Laredo celebrates its
  dual historical and cultural ties throughout the year; and
         WHEREAS, Situated on the banks of the Rio Grande, Laredo is
  now the 10th-largest city in Texas and the largest inland port on
  the southern United States border; it is one of the top four ports
  of commerce in the nation, and in 2010, the city handled 40
  percent of all overland trade between the United States and
  Mexico; and
         WHEREAS, Education plays a vital role in the life of
  Laredo, with three institutes of higher learning that have almost
  110 years of combined experience; Laredo Community College,
  first established in 1947 on the 100-year-old grounds of the
  historic Fort McIntosh, boasts two campuses to better serve the
  entire city; Texas A&M International University has been
  educating local Laredo leaders for the past 40 years, and the new
  University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Laredo
  Extension Campus thrives with students and has entered into new
  interlocal agreements that give medical students practical
  experience; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
  83rd Legislature, hereby extend best wishes for a celebratory
  Laredo Legislative Day at the Capitol; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
  the citizens of Laredo as a memento of this occasion.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on January 30, 2013.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate