Deshotel (Senate Sponsor - Williams) (In the Senate - Received from the House May 9, 2013; 1-1 By: 1-2 1-3 May 9, 2013, read first time and referred to Committee on Transportation; May 17, 2013, reported favorably by the following vote: Yeas 7, Nays 1; May 17, 2013, sent to printer.) 1-4 1-5

1-6		COMMITTEE VOTE			
1-7		Yea	Nay	Absent	PNV
1-8	Nichols	Х			
1-9	Paxton			Х	
1-10	Campbell	Х			
1-11	Davis	Х			
1-12	Ellis	Х			
1-13	Hancock	Х			
1-14	Patrick		Х		
1-15	Uresti	Х			
1-16	Watson	Х			

1-17 1-18

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

relating to the compensation of the members of the board of port 1-19 commissioners of the Port of Port Arthur Navigation District of 1-20 1-21 Jefferson County.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

1-22 1-23 SECTION 1. Section 11, Chapter 197, Acts of the 58th Legislature, Regular Session, 1963, is amended to read as follows: Sec. 11. Each commissioner shall receive for performing 1-24

1-25 duties as a commissioner <u>compensation set by the Board of Port</u> <u>Commissioners</u> [the sum of \$200 per month, except the president who <u>shall receive \$250 per month</u>,] plus actual traveling expenses. The <u>Board of Port Commissioners</u> [board of commissioners] shall <u>set</u> [fix] the compensation of the secretary, general manager, attorneys, engineers, and all other employees, and said board shall <u>set</u> [fix] and determine the term and time of employment of all officers and employees of the district; provided that all officers 1-26 1-27 1-28 1-29 1-30 1-31 1-32 1-33 1-34 and employees of the district, except the commissioners themselves, 1-35 shall hold their offices subject to the will of the Board of Port 1-36 Commissioners. 1-37

* * * * *

SECTION 2. This Act takes effect September 1, 2013.

1-38