H.C.R. No. 10

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Robert Griffin III was recognized as the best 2 college football player in the nation when he was named the winner 3 of the 2011 Heisman Trophy, an achievement that capped off his exceptional career as the quarterback of the Baylor Bears; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Emerging as a gridiron star while a student at

Copperas Cove High School, Mr. Griffin led his team to the 4A 6 Division 1 title game in 2007, and he established a 25-4 record 7

during his two years as the quarterback of the Bulldawgs; and 8

WHEREAS, Mr. Griffin chose Baylor from among the many schools 9 that recruited him, and he became the team's number one signal 10 11 caller during the first game of his freshman year; one of the 12 youngest starting quarterbacks during 2008, he was named Baylor's offensive MVP and was the recipient of a number of conference and 13 14 national freshman awards; and

WHEREAS, Following a sophomore season that was cut short by 15 16 injury, Mr. Griffin returned in top form in 2010, and he was honored as the Big 12 Comeback Player of the Year as a result of his 17 18 accomplishments; he garnered numerous other accolades as well, and his superb passing and running helped Baylor earn an invitation to 19 20 the Texas Bowl; and

21 WHEREAS, This dynamic athlete reached new heights 22 excellence in 2011, when he accounted for 47 touchdowns and 4,992 23 yards of total offense; inspired by his leadership, the Bears had 24 their finest campaign in a quarter-century, tallying nine wins in

H.C.R. No. 10

- 1 the regular season and ending the year with a victory in the Alamo
- 2 Bowl; and
- 3 WHEREAS, In addition to being the first Baylor player to
- 4 receive the Heisman Trophy, Mr. Griffin claimed two prestigious
- 5 quarterback honors, the Davey O'Brien and Manning Awards, and
- 6 several player of the year recognitions; the unforgettable 2011
- 7 season also helped him to rewrite the university record books; by
- 8 the time he concluded his college career to join the National
- 9 Football League, he had set new school marks in 46 different
- 10 categories; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Robert Griffin has earned a place of honor in the
- 12 roll call of Texas football greats, and his achievements are a
- 13 source of immense pride for the students, alumni, and supporters of
- 14 Baylor University, as well as for sports fans throughout the Lone
- 15 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 17 hereby congratulate Robert Griffin III on winning the 2011 Heisman
- 18 Trophy and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success;
- 19 and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for Mr. Griffin as an expression of high regard by the
- 22 Texas House of Representatives and Senate.
- S. Davis of Harris
 Phillips
 Eiland
- J. Davis of Harris Leach

H.C.R. No. 10

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Otto Alonzo Alvarado Guerra Paddie Anchia Guillen Parker Gutierrez Anderson Patrick Harless Ashby Perez Harper-Brown Perry Aycock Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna Bohac Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Ratliff Hughes Burkett Burnam Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Button Johnson Riddle Callegari Canales Kacal Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Capriglione Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor Carter Rodriguez of Travis Clardy Rose Coleman Sanford King of Zavala Collier Schaefer Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell Krause Simmons Creighton Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Larson Smith Darby Laubenberg Smithee Springer Davis of Dallas Lavender J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Lozano Taylor Dutton Thompson of Brazoria Lucio III Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris Elkins Martinez Toth Martinez Fischer Fallon Turner of Collin Farias McClendon Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Menendez Farney Miles Villalba Farrar Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Fort Bend Flynn Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morrison White Workman Geren Munoz, Jr. Giddings Murphy Wıı Zedler Goldman Naishtat Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas

| TT | \sim | _ | 7A T - | 1 0 |
|----|--------|---|--------|-------|
| н | (' | R | NΩ | 1 () |

| | | | | | Н. | C.R. No | o. 10 |
|-----------|-------------|-------------|----------|-----------|------------|----------|-------|
| Presi | dent of the | e Senate | | Spea | ker of the | House | |
| Ιc | ertify tha | t H.C.R. No | . 10 was | adopted | by the Ho | use on 1 | March |
| 12, 2013, | by a non-r | ecord vote. | | | | | |
| | | | - | | | | |
| | | | | Chief | Clerk of | the Hou | se |
| Ιc | ertify tha | t H.C.R. No | . 10 was | adopted h | oy the Sen | ate on 1 | March |
| 13, 2013, | by a viva- | voce vote. | | | | | |
| | | | - | | | | |
| | | | | Secr | etary of t | he Sena | te |
| APPROVED: | | | | | | | |
| | Da | te | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | Gove | rnor | | | | | |