H.C.R. No. 33

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Texans today have a renewed belief that the
government closest to the people is the best government; and

3 WHEREAS, No other level of government is more accountable and 4 responsive on a daily basis to "We the People" than Texas cities; 5 and

6 WHEREAS, Texas cities provide critical services such as 7 police and fire protection, as well as the collection and disposal 8 of garbage, ensuring that citizens have safe cities in which to live 9 and work; and

10 WHEREAS, Texas cities are the first, and often only, engine 11 of economic development in the state, attracting businesses and 12 providing infrastructure for those businesses to be successful; and

13 WHEREAS, Texas cities constantly strive to keep driving 14 conditions safe and work tirelessly to maintain city streets, 15 street lights, and sidewalks; and

16 WHEREAS, Texas cities provide safe, clean, and reliable 17 drinking water, as well as investments in drinking water and 18 wastewater infrastructure to protect public health and ensure that 19 there is an adequate water supply to support the state's growing 20 population, businesses, and industries; and

21 WHEREAS, Texas cities also provide parks and libraries that 22 improve the quality of life for individuals and the overall 23 community; and

24

WHEREAS, The services that cities are called on to provide by

1

H.C.R. No. 33 1 the citizens of Texas reflect the will of local taxpayers and allow 2 people to live and work in close proximity; and

3 WHEREAS, Those who are elected and serve at the local level do 4 so largely on a voluntary basis and are best suited to determine 5 what their individual communities look like; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas 7 hereby recognize this day as Municipal Government Day at the State 8 Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for an 9 informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Larson

2

H.C.R. No. 33

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.C.R. No. 33

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 33 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 33 was adopted by the Senate on February 6, 2013, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor