H.C.R. No. 83

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, St. Patrick's Day is commemorated every year by 2 people of Irish ancestry all over the world, and each March for 3 nearly 75 years, the city of Shamrock in the Panhandle has drawn 4 countless visitors for its celebration of all things Irish; and

5 WHEREAS, Named by immigrant sheep rancher George Nickel in 6 honor of his native land, Shamrock is home to an annual 7 St. Patrick's Day gathering that was started in 1938 by Glen Truax, 8 the town's bandmaster; sponsored by the Shamrock Booster Club, the 9 first festival was a success, featuring 12 bands and drawing 10 several thousand people; and

11 WHEREAS, The festival continued to grow until it was put on 12 hold during World War II; revived by the American Legion and the 13 Junior Chamber of Commerce in 1950, it was canceled again in 1951 14 because of the Korean War, but in 1952, the Shamrock Chamber of 15 Commerce took over the event, and it has continued to be held 16 throughout the ensuing years; and

WHEREAS, Today, the Shamrock St. Patrick's Day festival lasts several days, starting with a kickoff banquet and a dance, followed by such events as a carnival, a fun run, an arts and crafts exhibition, a vintage car show, an Old Settlers reunion, a Donegal beard-growing competition, and the crowning of Miss Irish Rose, all done with a distinctively Hibernian flair; and

23 WHEREAS, Every spring, the Shamrock St. Patrick's Day event 24 combines the best of Irish and Texas high spirits, making it one of

1

H.C.R. No. 83 1 the most unique and colorful community celebrations in the Lone 2 Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas hereby designate the Shamrock St. Patrick's Day Celebration as the official St. Patrick's Day Celebration for the State of Texas.

Springer

H.C.R. No. 83

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.C.R. No. 83

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 83 was adopted by the House on March 12, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 83 was adopted by the Senate on March 12, 2013, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED:

Date

Governor