H.C.R. No. 95

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Longhorn Leaders program, an initiative of the

Greater Austin Crime Commission, is celebrating its 10th

3 anniversary in 2013; and

2

10

11

20

WHEREAS, Dr. Michael Lauderdale and Fred Ligarde, both board

5 members of the commission, collaborated with The University of

6 Texas School of Social Work to develop the Longhorn Leaders youth

7 outreach program, which creates a dialogue between university

8 students and seventh graders; and

9 WHEREAS, Middle-school youth are at a crucial point in their

development, and the decisions they make during this time in their

lives can affect their transition into early adulthood; because

12 they are more susceptible to influence and face peer pressure and

13 greater access to drugs and alcohol, alternative and positive

14 encouragement can go a long way in counteracting potential negative

15 forces; university athletes are especially effective role models

16 for students at this age because of their visibility in college

17 sports, their name recognition, and their proximity in age to

18 participants in the program; and

19 WHEREAS, During the course of a semester, Longhorn Leaders

give several presentations at each school, discussing their life

21 circumstances and how the difficult decisions they had to make when

22 they were younger have affected their present-day lives; while

23 making personal connections with the middle schoolers, university

24 students emphasize the importance of setting goals and promote the

- 1 values of teamwork and discipline; they receive course credit for
- 2 participating, and they often find themselves transformed as they
- 3 work to transform the lives of others; and
- WHEREAS, Since fall 2003, the Greater Austin Crime Commission
- 5 has partnered with the UT Athletics Department and the Austin
- 6 Independent School District to offer the Longhorn Leaders program
- 7 at seven middle schools and three elementary schools throughout
- 8 Austin and at the Gardner Betts Juvenile Justice Center as well; and
- 9 WHEREAS, More than 300 University of Texas students have
- 10 participated in the Longhorn Leaders program, including David Ash,
- 11 T. J. Ford, Cat Osterman, Colt McCoy, Quan Cosby, Erin Phenix, Kevin
- 12 Durant, Sonya Richards, Aaron Ross, Kasey Studdard, and Vince
- 13 Young; and
- 14 WHEREAS, By connecting with Austin youth during a critical
- 15 period in their lives and encouraging them to see the values of
- 16 leadership and smart decision-making, the Longhorn Leaders program
- 17 has made a positive difference in the lives of countless young
- 18 Texans; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 20 hereby congratulate the Longhorn Leaders program on its 10th
- 21 anniversary and commend the Greater Austin Crime Commission and its
- 22 partners, the Motorola Solutions Foundation and the University
- 23 Federal Credit Union, for their important work; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 25 prepared for the Greater Austin Crime Commission as an expression
- 26 of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Workman

## H.C.R. No. 95

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	
Creighton	Krause	Sheffield of Coryell Simmons
Crownover	_	Simpson
Dale	Kuempel Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel		Strama
Dukes	Longoria Lozano	
Dutton	_	Taylor
Eiland	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Elkins	Marquez Martinez	Thompson of Harris Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farney	Miles	Villalba
Farrar Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarda Villarreal
	Miller of Fort Bend	Villarrear Vo
Flynn		
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

Η.	С.	. R .	No.	95

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 95 wa	s adopted by the House on April
10, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 95 was	s adopted by the Senate on April
15, 2013, by a viva-voce vote.	
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	