H.C.R. No. 121

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION 1 WHEREAS, Norteno music legend Ramon Ayala is visiting the 2 State Capitol on May 15, 2013, in celebration of his 50th year in music, and this occasion provides an ideal opportunity to recognize 3 this acclaimed accordionist, songwriter, and singer; and 4 5 WHEREAS, A longtime resident of Hidalgo, Mr. Ayala was born in Monterrey, Mexico, on December 8, 1945; he took up his signature 6 7 instrument at the age of six and helped support his family with his playing; as a teenager, he teamed with Cornelio Reyna to form Los 8 9 Relampagos del Norte, which synthesized traditional norteno music

with more modern elements from Texas conjunto; their brilliant 10 11 fusion defined norteno in the 1960s, and their many hits, including

"Ya No Llores" and "El Disgusto," have been covered by countless 12

other artists through the years; and 13

WHEREAS, Los Relampagos recorded 20 albums before the members 14 parted ways in 1971; subsequently, the accordion virtuoso found 15 16 even greater success leading Ramon Ayala y Sus Bravos del Norte; songs such as "Un Rinconcito en el Cielo," "Chaparra de Mi Amor," 17 and "Tragos Amargos" became norteno standards, and Mr. Ayala has 18 remained much in demand as a performer, on stage, on television, and 19 20

in more than a dozen movies; and 21 WHEREAS, Nominated for several Grammy Awards, Mr. Ayala won the honor in the Best Mexican-American Album category in 2001 for 22 23 En Vivo... El Hombre Y Su Musica, and he produced the 2010 Best Norteno Album winner, Classic, a tribute to Los Relampagos by 24 contemporary superstars Intocable; Mr. Ayala has also received two 25

H.C.R. No. 121

- 1 Latin Grammys, and in 1997, Los Relampagos was inducted into the
- 2 Pura Vida Music Hall of Fame; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Mr. Ayala has demonstrated a deep commitment to his
- 4 community, and in 2000, he sponsored the first Ramon Ayala
- 5 Christmas Posada, an event highlighted by a toy giveaway for area
- 6 children; the presents delight some 10,000 youngsters annually and
- 7 are an especially treasured holiday tradition for those from
- 8 disadvantaged backgrounds; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The posada also includes a mass and a Nativity
- 10 reenactment, and the day comes to an exciting close when the man
- 11 known as "El Rey del Accordeon"--the "King of the Accordion"--joins
- 12 with other performers to present a free concert; the event was moved
- 13 from his hometown of Hidalgo to the community of Las Milpas in 2012;
- 14 and
- WHEREAS, Ramon Ayala has made vital contributions to Texas
- 16 music through his innovations and artistry, and while delighting
- 17 countless Tejano fans over the course of his career, he has been
- 18 equally devoted to bringing the joy of the holiday season to all
- 19 members of his community; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 21 hereby declare May 15, 2013, as Ramon Ayala Day at the State Capitol
- 22 and congratulate Mr. Ayala on his 50th anniversary in music; and,
- 23 be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 25 prepared for Mr. Ayala as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 26 House of Representatives and Senate.

Gutierrez Martinez Fischer

## H.C.R. No. 121

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Straus Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Alonzo Gooden Otto Alvarado Guerra Paddie Guillen Anchia Parker Anderson Gutierrez Patrick Ashby Harless Perez Aycock Harper-Brown Perry Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna Herrero Pickett Hilderbran Bonnen of Brazoria Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Burkett Hughes Ratliff Burnam Hunter Raymond Button Isaac Reynolds Callegari Johnson Riddle Kacal Ritter Canales Keffer Capriglione Rodriguez of Bexar King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis Carter Clardy King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Zavala Coleman Sanford Collier Schaefer Kleinschmidt Cook Sheets Klick Sheffield of Bell Cortez Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell Krause Simmons Creighton Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Smith Larson Smithee Darby Laubenberg Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Stickland Lewis Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Lozano Taylor Dutton Thompson of Brazoria Lucio III Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris Elkins Martinez Toth Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin McClendon Turner of Harris Farias Turner of Tarrant Farney Menendez Miles Villalba Farrar Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Fort Bend Flynn Vo Frank Moody Walle Morrison Frullo White Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman Giddings Murphy Wu Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas

TT	$\sim$	D	NT o	121
Н	(	R	Nο	171

			1	H.C.R. NO. 121
President of t	the Senate		Speaker of t	the House
I certify to 16, 2013, by a non-		121 was	adopted by th	e House on May
			Chief Clerk	of the House
I certify t 22, 2013, by a vive		121 was	adopted by the	e Senate on May
			Secretary o	f the Senate
APPROVED:	Date			
Go:	vernor			