HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Juan C. Marquez of El Paso rendered distinguished
- 2 service as a private in the United States Army during World War II,
- 3 and his courageous efforts have been posthumously recognized with a
- 4 ceremony at Fort Bliss, where the honors that he earned were
- 5 formally presented to members of his family; and
- 6 WHEREAS, A native of Cuadrilla, in southern El Paso County,
- 7 Mr. Marquez was born on June 14, 1911; he reported to Fort Bliss on
- 8 January 19, 1944, and three weeks later he was sent to the European
- 9 theater, where he served as a rifleman with the 44th Infantry
- 10 Division, 3rd Battalion, 71st Infantry Regiment; in the course of
- 11 fighting, Private Marquez was wounded by shrapnel, and on December
- 12 11, 1944, he was struck by a German tank near Woelfling, in
- 13 northeastern France, and suffered broken ribs and a separated
- 14 shoulder; and
- WHEREAS, After the end of the war in Europe, Mr. Marquez
- 16 returned home to his family in El Paso; tragically, he died in a car
- 17 crash on August 29, 1948, leaving behind his wife, Daisy, and their
- 18 four young sons; and
- WHEREAS, Years after his death, Mr. Marquez's family gained
- 20 an even deeper appreciation for his contributions during the war
- 21 when they read in his discharge papers a list of the medals that he
- 22 had earned, but which he had never received; with the help of
- 23 Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison, this oversight was rectified, and at
- 24 a ceremony held at Fort Bliss on December 7, 2012, Major General

- 1 Dana Pittard officially presented Mr. Marquez's military awards to
- 2 his two surviving sons, Dr. J. Antonio Marquez and Dr. Ricardo
- 3 Marquez, his granddaughter, Texas State Representative Marisa
- 4 Marquez, and other members of his family; these awards included two
- 5 Bronze Star Medals, the Purple Heart, the Good Conduct Medal, the
- 6 European-African-Middle Eastern Campaign Medal with three stars,
- 7 the World War II Victory Medal, the Army of Occupation Medal, the
- 8 Combat Infantryman Badge, and the Honorable Service Lapel Button;
- 9 and
- 10 WHEREAS, Through his steadfast valor and unwavering
- 11 dedication to duty, Juan Marquez embodied the highest ideals of the
- 12 United States armed forces, and his fellow citizens owe him a debt
- 13 of gratitude that the passage of time can never diminish; now,
- 14 therefore, be it
- 15 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 16 hereby pay tribute to the life of World War II veteran Juan
- 17 C. Marquez and commemorate the posthumous presentation of his
- 18 military awards; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for his family as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 21 House of Representatives and Senate.

Marquez

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No	. 126 was adopted by the House on May
17, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. N	No. 126 was unanimously adopted by a
rising vote of the Senate on May	21, 2013.
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	